d means forward, r means back in driving and politics.

10.31.02 @ 2:59 p.m.

I am so fired up democratically. I just got back from the Clinton thing. I'll elaborate. It was a fundraiser/vote rally for Oregon Democratic Senatorial candidate Bill Bradbury. Clinton was the guest of honor/primary speaker/main event. Art Alexakis from Everclear was also there, and it was amusing when he suddenly stopped talking and said "You all just want to see Bill, don't you? I'm just filler." It was said in a goodnatured way. He's cool, I like him. I might be forced to scrounge some used Everclear CDs.

It was fun! Clinton has a lot of charisma, more than I noticed before. (I seem to have magic charisma vision now, I can see it in a lot of people.)

Now I have an urge to stand on my bed and sing along with the Who at the top of my voice but there are reasons why I should not. I miss home, where it didn't matter if I did that so long as it wasn't after 9ish at night. Most of my mornings in August started with obscenely loud music, generally the Who. Yeeaaaaah. I miss those days. (Like Winter Break won't be much the same thing... oh wait, it's COLD during winter break. I'll be going straight from the electric blanketed bed to cowering next to the woodstove. Silly me.

Some things I noted at the rally:

--The over-50s will take any crappy oldies cover band and use it as an excuse to swing dance. I do not approve of dancing in places that do not call for it. Okay, I just don't want to watch boomers rock out in front of the stage anymore. And I fear that my parents will soon become these people.

--Art Alexakis is pretty damn cool. I'm glad he's from Portland.

--Clinton reminds me faintly of Elvis

--I almost signed up to go door to door canvassing for the Democratic party but once again chickened out. I might *might* start going to College Democrat meetings. Maybe.

Who am I kidding?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top