ruminations on othello and redoing assignments

10.21.02 @ 6:19 p.m.

The question of the moment: Is a B- good enough? I'm generally pleased with myself this evening. Saunders did managed to instill a small degree of panic with his missive (good lord, can you tell I've just come from a Shakespeare class? I'm talking 'high') the other day. Still, the glossing assignment was returned and, duh, I got a B-. I'm pleased that he wrote that I had potential for very good arguements. I'm pleased that I spoke today and my comments sparked a large, important part of the lecture on Desdemona's character. This is all wonderful. Mostly, though, I'm glad I spoke. I haven't spoken in Saunder's presence this entire time. Isn't that frightening? I'm so painfully shy, and if it's not that, I don't know what to contribute to the discussion. I lose my superior little sense of cleverness when I walk in that class, but that's not unpleasant. It's so worth it for the joy that is that class. We used 'fuck' not as an exclamation today, but representative of sex. For once. ;) Not that we don't bring up the sexual connotations of things all the time. As my former RA said to me a couple of days ago on the street: "Saunders? Everything is about sex with him, but he's a great teacher." It's so true. And yet, I find that brilliant. It's so refreshing to be able to have a teacher be open and honest about the implied innuendos and metaphors. He said something about those of us who read this in a high school setting being in for a nasty shock. I'm surprised already. Desdemona is uncommonly bold in stating that she loved the Moor to live with him--her speech justifying her elopement is full of the veiled statement "I married him so I could have sex with him, deal with it."

Derailing that train of thought, Amy has somewhat convinced me to redo the assignment when the opportunity comes up. I'd write more, but I'm distracted now by my IM conversation. Hate when that happens, but it's my own fault for starting the convo with here before I started typing here.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top