familiar rhythms in a different style

10.19.02 @ 1:12 a.m.

I'm so happy. I'm impatient, too, so I'm just going to reprint what I posted on Monkeeland about tonight's McCartney experience here.

I think I have just had the best night of my entire life. Paul played for something like two and a half hours. He played a number of Beatles songs, including It's Getting Better All The Time and She's Leaving Home--this tour is the first time Paul has really played these since the sixties, or so he tells us. He also did a very lovely tribute to George (with photo montage--he had these giant screens with special effects and old footage) by playing Something on a ukelele that George gave him. He told a hilarious story about getting massages on tours, and generally played fantastic music for a very long time without a break. Really impressive. Paul got everyone in the audience singing the "Na na na na" part of Hey Jude, which was really neat, just feeling the audience vibe. He played Freedom and a big banner with a stylized Statue of Liberty came down... what else... He got two standing ovations and came out for two multi-song encores. It was so fabulous and so worth it.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top