normal

10.17.02 @ 11:03 a.m.

Buongiorno.... Okay, yeah, I just got back from Italian.

I'm lusting after a bunch of these Craft Center classes offered through the student union. *sigh* Right, well, I may well see about getting into some of these if there are spaces open, and maybe I'll get on the ball next term and register early for some. I'm still horribly unemployed, not that I've done anything to change that. I should print out that food service application. Working food service here doesn't sound nearly as bad as working fast food. I could be wrong :/

Anyway. I realize that I neglected to write last night, though I meant to. I love my Shakespeare teacher. Well, he's cool, but I don't think I'm going to fling myself across his desk and shout "Take me now!" but he sure is interesting and funny. He colors the tips of his hair, so it's black with red tips. He was wearing one of those shirts that changes color in the light, shimmery, you know? We were talking about personality and how a person becomes an individual by copying other individuals. "I want to be a pop star," he said suddenly. "I always have. That's why my hair is the color it is. That's why my shirt is the two colors it is. Tha--for fuck's sake, I'm wearing snakeskin shoes." It was hilarious. He also spoke a bit about how he though he had pretty eyes (pausing to tell us that his girlfriend thought he had pretty eyes, too) and he sometimes wished he could use makeup to embellish them. (Just drifted off into short reverie about Phil Daniels' use of eyeliner when he portrayed Jimmy Cooper the Mod in Quadrophenia. Damn, do I love that movie.)

Moving on to Quadrophenia, I love that movie. I only watched half of it before I had to return it a couple of days ago, but I had checked out the DVD. The subtitles are Rhino's Trivia Track, which was alternately cool and kind of senseless. There was a cool part about how the four facets of Jimmy's personality represent the members of the Who.

Something neat happened yesterday regarding the Who... I went to get a snack at Grab and Go because I didn't have time for a full meal before class. As I walked in, a song started and it was "You Better You Bet" which I love. I think some boys gave me funny looks for singing along quietly. "My voice too rough with cigarettes" is the line coming to mind right now. I love "You Better You Bet."

I have so much to do today after I go to yoga. I have to do laundry, I have to go get my ticket for Greyhound, and I have to study for an Italian test tomorrow. There's apparently a big group meeting at Common Grounds at 6:30 and Allison encourages me to go, but I don't think a big group study session is going to be too helpful. Studying with one other person, yeah, I can see that because it's a language and you need to bounce stuff off each other. I'm also apparently fucked because I haven't been doing the listening labs, even though she isn't assigning them. Someone said they're in our workbook. I don't know. You have to go online and do some things and I've never done it, so I don't know. I also have a history test next Friday. I'm definately going to have to take my laptop with me this weekend. I need to figure out what I have to do with my Media Monitoring data and get that all ready to turn in on Monday. Add on to this that we're starting Othello on Monday, so I'll have to take that home with me, too. Bloody hell. Ha, am I going to have a fun weekend. Oh well, at least I'll be out of Eugene. I mean, it's not Corvallis-bad, but I miss Hillsboro, my family, my dog, things like that. I'm ready to go *home* if just for a bit. I'm thinking of bringing my James Dean poster back with me. I'm not completely sure it'll fit on my wall, but it might. I guess I should do some approximation... but I'd kind of rather fill the space gradually with little things. I'm sure I have plenty of things right now that would take up a lot of the space. Aw, man, I think I recycled the issue of the Emerald that had an article on Vespas--I wanted to clip out the part that talked about Mods. That was going to go in my little box of clipped out words. I have a shoebox with magazine pictures, an altoids box in that that has ransom-note style clipped out letters, and a flat metal box that an AOL CD came in full of words and phrases. It's not completely pointless. I mean, the shoebox itself is so cool. I have all kinds of things on there, glued down then shellac'd. I made Andrew a birthday card out of a bunch of the bits. Most recently I clipped some words out of a Rules of Attraction poster which came stuffed in the Emerald.

The last two nights have also brought a bunch of IMing with Rachel, which was so fun, especially the night before last. I think I have a Jump Street fic of hers I haven't read yet. I need to cook up some more trouble for Emma Doland so I have something to send her in return. I love writing so much. That's one of the reasons I have a diaryland account. I like just typing things out and recounting my day or ranting about someone's stupidity.

I was thinking about how amusing I find most of the world last night after I passed a guy singing "Jesus Is Just All Right With Me" under his breath on the way back from class last night. At 7:30, there aren't many people on the path to the academic section of campus. It took a lot of self control not to burst out laughing. As it was, I had a big stupid grin plastered on my face once I passed him. There's so much absurdity in the world. I was probably more sensitive to it last night because we had been talking in Shakespeare just how weird culture is. How fucked up a society is that relies on the Cosmo quiz. How you can just run down to the shops and buy personality in the form of accessories. I learned something fascinating last night. The word 'normal' as we know it didn't enter the language until the late 19th century. Yes, people, the VICTORIANS created the concept of 'normal.' A more repressed and twisted set of people you'll never find, and they came up with 'normal.' What does that say about Western Civilization?

*yawn, stretch* I really need a haircut. It's too long. I want some slightly layered just-past-shoulder-length thing. Right now it's about an inch above my elbows. It's too much, I don't need that much. I need to find a haircut that really flatters me. This is gettin excessive. So, on top of homework, possibly buying clothes (I wore a hole in a favorite pair of jeans!), buying other personal necessities, I need to try to mix a hair cut into the bargain. Probably not likely to happen. Still. I think I'd rather get a haircut than go shopping, I mean, I can shop in Eugene. I don't know a good place to get my hair cut in Eugene. And hell will freeze over before I let E* near my hair. She wanted to cut it last year. Why the hell would I let her cut my hair? My hair is very important to me, and frankly, E* does a lot of really inept things. So, yes, I think a haircut is in order.

I think I've finally run out of things to day for now.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top