who are you, who-who, who-who

10.15.02 @ 12:22 a.m.

AAAAAGH! I just accidentally clicked the close thingy on a window and lost a whole entry. I don't know if I'm up to trying to repeat it. Beth got me thinking about Chumbawamba so I listened to the WYSIWYG album for the first time in years.

I also saw Natural Born Killers tonight for my Shakespeare class. Saunders may be fascinating, but this was certainly odd. I still have to read the little essayette he gave us on the film and Wednesday we'll be discussion connections. And apparently I'll have to have a bit of Titus Andronicus picked out as suggesting something about the relationship of revenge and gender as he tells us (via email) that having warned us, he will feel no guilt randomly calling on people. Eegad. So long as I manage to avoid my unconscious imitation of accents--I've been okay so far. Then again, the only class where I really talked was the one when he wasn't there. *rolls eyes* Yeah. Doesn't help me, unless the GTF noticed, and I kind of doubt she kept track apart from Anne I think it is talking tons about Robertson and the feminist viewpoint. Gad, did I hate that Robertson essay.

What else is there to say about today? I did some mad desk cleaning and general tidying because Krista and Leah came over today. All for naught, because my computer refused to read the document Leah wanted to print. Eventually, we're invited to have dinner at Leah, Krista, and Hillary's. Nice.

In other news.... I have a financial aid document I need to remember to drop off (since I forgot today) and I really need to remember the little paper for yoga tomorrow. I watched some M*A*S*H this afternoon to go along with my sudden interest in that show.... I even watched it instead of Jeannie! (This is shocking, by the way. I almost never miss Jeannie. My obsession with Jeannie extends to what almost amounts to a crossover fanfic, the Mattie Doyle story I constantly mention. I should probably post some of these since I keep talking about them so much, but the only person who's really gotten to read them is the inimitable Rachel. She's also the only person who's read the Jane Austen-style fic of Emma Doland. E* was all shocked last night when I told her that I write for the fun of it, that I have several stories over 8 pages (double spaced) and one is nearing twelve. (Today I handwrote two sides of paper on that story and I may well type it up once I'm done here.) I love writing so much. Fanfic is nice because it lets me play with characters I already know. Premade personality quirks. Emma Doland's story is almost outside the range of fanfic. All I really have to do is change the names and it's not fanfic at all. I really just don't have any creativity at all, so all my characters share last names with Monkees or Beatles or variations on the themes. Nesmith is pretty Nezish in his personality, but he could just as easily be Mr. Darcyish with a musical bent. Both with reserve, dark, wavy hair, they're both tall, handsome, I could go on and on.

Leah said something about my Pride and Prejudice box set. Apparently everyone wants to watch it. I may well be invited to Leah, Krista, and Hillary's apartment with videos in tow. Heck, I don't mind being almost exploited for my tapes. I've watched it dozens of times.

I'm intrigued by a new idea on Monkeeland--watching an episode every week and then discussing it. Almost like a book discussion group but... with Monkees eppies. Any excuse to watch Monkees eppies is just fine with me. It just occurs to me though that most 'discussion' would be on the lines of "Wasn't Peter cute when he was being chased by the bank robbers in the PVS romp?" (That would be a question from The Picture Frame AKA The Bank Robbery.) Mmmm, I need to watch Art For Monkees Sake because Mike is just stunning as the Tall, Towering Texan who needs no introduction.... Madame Spy of the Monkees Soaps is right--Mike is amazing in black. It is a VERY good color on him. Though I am a sucker for late first season/early second season Mike without his hat on. His hair is delightfully shaggy.

E* begs me to put on headphones because she doesn't want to be listened to while she reads an essay out loud, so I'm listening to the Who at high volume. I listened to My Wife, Baba O'Reily, and now I'm listening to Who Are You. I *heart* the Who.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top