i am so damn bored here

09.28.02 @ 5:23 p.m.

Aah, who can tell that it's back to school boredom already for me? Well, since I wrote an entry a couple of hours ago or so, duh. Duh and a half. Except now I'm being sociable. Colin and someone else told a bunch of girls I'm 'nice.' That's.... nice. Don't be fooled by my ususal sarcasm. I'm actually quite pleased.

Well, the school is giving us two free loads of laundry. See, we switched from quarter operated to card operated washers. The cards come with $1.50 on them, so at $.75 a load... two free loads.

Man, I am such a dork. I mean, a major queen of dorkdom. I decided to leave the door open now that I have a semblance of presentability around my room. I put up my Who poster... I thought it was so big before, but now, well, it just fits, that's all. No mind that it takes up nearly as much room as four vintage Beatles posters took up last year. I think I forgot to mention that while my walls last year were white, this year they're pale blue. It's kind of odd.

Damn the bookstore for closing at six most nights. It might be open late for the beginnning of school, but I really should have perused books today. Maybe tomorrow. Doesn't open 'til noon tomorrow, but who says I'll be up and ready by THEN? Tomorrow I need to get up at a reasonable time, shower, and then head 'cross campus. Maybe I'll get in touch with Moni. (Ha ha ha.) Seriously, for all our past issues, Moni and I seem to get along okay now. Just so long as we don't get in an argument, we should be fine. *tries to ignore the fact that she's one of the easiest people in the world to goad into an argument*

Hmm, that's odd. AIM just logged me out and back in again. Wonder what happened. Funny thing is, I don't think I took down my away message. Oh, wait, yes I did. Silly me. Wow, I really talk about a whole lot of nothing. Well, I'm feeling talkative with no outlet (why oh why is Rachel never on AIM?) so I have to blather on here or I shall go INSANE.

The girls across the hall have the biggest damn TV. Mine is really quite small. But I love it very dearly. Awww, little tiny TV, do you love me too?

The weird thing is, I'm certain that I've lost some cable channels, but I can't figure out which. WOO-HOO, we do get TLC. Not getting the TV guide channel for some reason, though. I'll have to rely on the online version. *big, pointless sigh* Okay, it just took me several minutes to get the appropriate listings. It seems we have the food network and the SciFi channel now. I will admit to being excited, just a smidge, about the SciFi channel. I am such a hopeless geek! (Don't worry about all my berating myself... I'm rather happy with the idea of being a hopeless geek.) Lately my reading material has been vintage SF. I can't wait to get some real mail so I can get a damn library card all ready. I want to read more Ursula Le Guin (did I talk about how fantastic The Lathe of Heaven is? The book I mean. I hope to borrow the old version of the movie from my SF teacher from last winter term.) and I'm still (STILL!) in the middle of reading Stranger in a Strange Land... What can I say, it's hard to take in all at once. I love reading. Perhaps one of the draws of fanfic is that it elaborates on familiar things and I am always voracious for things I haven't read before. *she says with a shelf full of Jane Austens (well read), Harry Potter books, and other bits and pieces.* Actually, a lot of the stuff on my shelf is stuff I haven't read before. I have a book of short stories called Fiction of the Fifties that I've barely even opened yet. And then some.

I'm thinking of going to Burger King for an early dinner. I can't get my ID card yet, you see, and so I must go where I can pay cash for scrumptious food. (I would say 'scrummy,' as I know I've heard it before, but right now it doesn't sound like an adjective for a good thing.) And, well, I might as well keep dorm food a novelty while I can, eh?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top