it's a piston engine...

08.11.02 @ 12:46 p.m.

I spent at least two hours in the company of a dead rat yesterday. Don't you just envy my life?

Anyway, I was chopping ivy around my grandmother's house yesterday with my mom. Ivy may look pretty climbing up the walls of some charming little cottage, but it's a bloody nuisance when it's left to grow unchecked. It's amazing what we're finding in there. I understand there's a van engine in the leafy depths, and I think I spotted part of it yesterday. I worked in the narrow little alley next to my grandma's house for a good hour, chatting with my mom. We were talking about how the ivy makes a home for wildlife, like the bunnies, and I said "And the rats."..... "So you noticed that rat pelt there?" You know, she was right. There really was no better work to describe it than pelt. It was bizarrely flat.

I'm watching these series four Monty Python episodes and I've realized that I've seen all these. The show was briefly on PBS and that's when I got hooked. I can't imagine why they showed these Cleeseless ones, though. *shrug* No matter, my top three Pythons are: Palin (gorgeous), Chapman (hilarious), and Idle (dunno, just like him lots). About two and a half years ago I went to see Eric Idle Exploits Monty Python at the Shnitz in Portland. It was fun, but I rather wish I hadn't gone with my parents, because it was very dirty indeed. Somewhere I have a program for it, but lord knows where that is. I haven't seen it for a while.

I think it's amusing that because I just watched Python, I have to try to keep myself from sounding all faux british. Also, for some reason I'm using extra Ls when I type.

Oh man, I have Nascar on the TV because I was too lazy to turn it off after the Python tape ended, and I just heard something that struck me as really funny.

ANN. 1: Yes, that is turn one. Look at the Zippo signs.

ANN 2: Zippo is a kind of lighter.

ANN 1: (sarcastically) Thank you, Alan

ANN 2: (defensively) Well, not everybody knows that.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top