it's my happening, baby, and it freaks me out

08.06.02 @ 8:05 p.m.

Lately, I've been inadvertantly naughty. Like how I accidentally threw Rudy (a dog I'm dogsitting)'s frisbee into the massive, yard-eating clump of blackberries and now I can't find it. (And when I say 'I', I mean 'my mom' because I'm more willing to write it off instead of thrash my way into a massive thorny death trap. But that's just me.) Mom made this cool little narrow path way in there. You know, now I can't remember the other examples of my inadvertant naughtiness. Oh well.

I was bratty to my dad today, but he totally deserved it. I decided this afternoon that I wanted to bake brownies. So I did. I mixed and stirred and preheated and so on, and my dad came down and criticized me. (Mr. Zone-Diet gets all uppity when we eat anything that is yummy, by which I mean chocolately and or ice creamy.) So he's all "How can you put that crap in your body" all afternoon, but once the brownies come out, it's a totally different story. I insisted that this time I follow the directions and let things cool properly. Oooh, no, there's no having that. It's all "Gimme gimme" all of a sudden. I said "No, I'm making these, and as far as I'm concerned they aren't done yet." So that's respected, after some argument, for a while.

I sat down and started reading my book in the next room and Dad came in and lingered out of my site in the kitchen. He said "Hey, these brownies are good." I got pissed off. I knew it was either one of two things- either he was eating my brownies or he was screwing with my head in his evil and manipulative way, both of which would make me equally pissed off, which was probably his goal because he's a bastard like that. He hadn't been eating them, but I decided that they had finally cooled enough. He was hovering over me, watching my every move as I got the knife and started cutting them. I, of course, got pissed off further. He said "What, aren't you going to share?" or something to that effect, and I said "Not with anyone who's going to hover over me the entire time!" My voice got really nastily sarcastic. "I thought you didn't eat this kind of stuff." Earlier when I had said this, while they were still baking and he had said "Not if I can avoid it." This time he said nothing, or "Fine" or something. Bastard. He's such a fucking hypocrite. At least I admit when I'm a hypocrite, most of the time anyway.

On a random note, old Smints are really sticky. They stick to your teeth, I mean. I think they absorbed moisture. They are Intense Peach flavor, for the curious.

I bought a pair of Todd Oldham designed composition books. I love composition books. I don't know what I'm going to do with them, though. I have about five old ones in various stages of use. One is completely full of really horrible fanfic. I used to love rereading what I wrote a couple of summers ago, but the last time I realized that it's really quite awful. I mean, it seriously sucks. That's partly why I think that I'll never become a novelist, which is my secret dream. I'm better at telling things that really happened, which is why I'm aiming myself toward journalism. Plus, I think it would kick ass to work for NPR.

I can't think of a note to end on, except to say that I got new Monty Python videos (I now have sets one through four and set seven is my new aquisition) for half price. Plus my mom checked out a bellydancing instructional tape at the library that I'm going to peruse (when I was a girl I wanted to be one of the girls in the Can You Dig It scene of the movie HEAD, most specifically the one who was kissing Davy. Now, I'm a Nezhead, but the allure of bellydancing is still there. Plus it's supposed to be good exercise for the stomach muscles) and some movies which we may or may not watch tonight. It's hard to get my parents to commit to such things. Ta.

Oh, PS- I think Austin Powers wears a Monkees-style eight button shirt in the "Don't say mole" scene!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top