5-15

08.04.02 @ 5:50 p.m.

There's a Jedi in town... Sam Jackson is playing a local golf tournament, and leading it, I think. The Fred Meyer Challenge. (Among my friends, our Sam Jackson related catchphrase is "Use the Force, Motherfucker.")

I'm lately somewhat conscious of how much I swear in writing. I can't really swear when I actually talk because I'm at home with my parents and they would be, well, shocked. Ha, I used to sound like a sailor when I was in junior high. I guess I must have gotten it out of my system for the most part, because people act all shocked if I say 'fuck' now. Whatever.

So we went down to Eugene yesterday, and let me just say the visit exceeded my expectations. And not in a good way. It was every bit as tedious and boring and vaguely uncomfortable as I thought it would be, and then a little bit more. I desperately wanted to go home and Mom understood that, but she just had to hang around and have some tea... and pick some blueberries... and have more frickin' food (we ate TONS there) before we left. It was all too much. I harbored hopes of spending more time traveling than actually visiting. E*'s brother was kind of bratty and spoke about 5 words of English while we were there. Now, maybe it's just me, but I think it's damn rude to spend as much time as they did speaking Chinese in front of guests. We had to stay in a group at Saturday Market, which really hindered my enjoyment of it. I would have had fun if I could have gone at my own pace. Or even just had to pace with my mom. That wouldn't have been bad at all. I like hanging out with my mom most of the time. But this was just too damn boring for words. I'm a terrible person, but there it is. I guess I just can't help that.

The current series of Mystery! is just about the best one yet. It's called Murder Rooms: The Dark Origins of Sherlock Holmes. It's a fictionalization of the life of Arthur Conan Doyle and his medical practice before he really started writing. And the nice thing is that each episode is self contained. The whodunnit doesn't have to wait for three weeks, you know at the end of an hour and a half. The last one was about Victorian spiritualists. I've read a little bit about some of the ways that people were conned at that time (I make no judgements about whether or not it's possible to communicate with the dead, I just know that a lot of so-called spiritualists of Victorian times were frankly con artists. Damn good ones, but con artists none the less) and it's all very interesting. *Spoiler if your a fan of the show* This one guy (in the episode of Mystery!) was certain he'd seen his wife's spirit ascending from her body at the time of her death and ened up killing twelve people while trying to photograph their spirits leaving their bodies. Majorly creepy.

I'm hoping that I can get my parents to go see Goldmember tomorrow. That's the way it so often happens--I'm the only one who has enough enthusiasm for movies to actually go see them when the opportunity arises, and my parents have to be hauled along to my second viewing. I'm like a mini-movie critic to them. Actually, they were slightly ticked off that I was going without them, but I think it would have left the theaters without us seeing it if I left it up to them. *rolls eyes* Well, I think I'm going to be off now to read some other diaries and maybe check out some fanficy stuff. Oh, and I have to call Belle. We're planning a Monkees-Party on the 12th. Whoa, just had a moment of panic, thinking I had planned two things for the same day, but it's all good. I'm going to the beach (probably) September 11-14 with Martha and company, and for a moment I got that mixed up with the August 12th Monkees party. Silly me.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top