michael caine is pretty damn cool

08.02.02 @ 10:44 p.m.

Funny how quickly a person can go from having a rather nice day to feeling like *fanfare* SUPER-BITCH! I was having a good day, you know? I slept 'til noon, but I didn't have a headache or any of my usual ill-effects of sleeping in. I got invited to go see Austin Powers in Goldmember with Amy and I did in fact go see the movie, and I enjoyed it... mostly. It was okay, not fantastic. I had fun. I got a vicarious thrill seeing the Star Trek Nemesis trailer because Amy is a mega Trek fan (closet Trek fan, though. Amazing how people will change how they treat you when they find things like that out. Star Wars, one of my fandoms, is perfectly (well nearly) socialy acceptable). I listened calmly and patiently (I like to listen, actually) as Amy excitedly recounted the Cher concert she went to last night and I came home, only mildy disappointed with the movie.

E* called this afternoon. I actually sat there right next to the phone and let it ring, assuming that, as usual, it wasn't for me. She left a message and I had to call her back this evening. She wanted to know what we wanted to do tomorrow when we go down to visit. That was boring--I had to make an excuse to get off the phone. Now, that makes me feel a little guilty, that I don't want to talk to her if I don't have to, but whatever. I'm gonna be spending 8 months in her presence, I'm not eager to spend my three free months in contact, sorry. I sound all cold and harsh, and maybe I am. But sometimes you just need a break from a person, even a three month break. *sigh* So that made me mildly disappointed and irritable.

Then Mom and Dad got back from their dance class. A combination of talking to Dad and Mom's insistance that we walk the dogs just made me completely angry and resentful. It's all really stupid of me--and it's not that Dad said anything that made me angry at him. He was in fact more reasonable than Mom was. He was right in that it was just plain too damn late to be dragging the stupid dogs up and down the road, that it would raise all sorts of heck with the other dogs, and well, it put me out. I was all curled up and comfortable on the couch and I had to get shoes and wander up and down the driveway? (A gravel lane, not a short little nothing driveway.)

Hey, cool, Mervyn's has an ad featuring the I Dream of Jeannie song.

I am proud of my accomplishments late last night and very early this morning (1 a.m.), though. I got several pages of new pictures on my site up and properly coded. I screwed up the HTML at first, but I was able to fix it without a problem in the end. Plus I got a couple of hits in the guestbook there, which was satisfying in itself.

God, I still feel a bit guilty about it, but I really, really, REALLY don't want to go visit E* and her family tomorrow. Schelp all the way down to Eugene (two hour drive), eat food I probably won't like (I am a picky eater sometimes), and wander around Saturday Market for a while. I hope to get out of there as early as possible, but I imagine there's very little chance of that. It's not polite, you know?

My horoscope said I'd write well today. That puts too much pressure on me! It suggested starting a journal, but then again, it said something about intense flirtation, and there was no chance for that. I didn't go anywhere today except the movies, and I was with Amy and her dad the whole time there. Someday I want to have my own life. :) Aaaah, that's enough for now. I can't think of anything else worth saying apart from wanting to complain that my jaw hurts and I have no idea why. Did I clench my teeth during the movie, or is there a wisdom tooth coming in?

OOH! I do have something else to say. I just remembered something Dad said when we watched The Royal Tennenbaums: He said that Luke Wilson (as pre-shaving Richie) reminded him of Mike Nesmith. That's a nice thought, actually, which is surprising coming from Dad. I like both the Wilsons (Luke and Owen) as actors, and yeah, I think Luke Wilson is rather attractive, and they're all Texans. Maybe that's a factor. You never know... if it is, then damn, I gotta go to Texas! Ha ha ha. Ah, well, thinking of Mike has put me in a fanficy mood, and I was working on something earlier when my mother so rudely interrupted with demands that I help walk the dogs (she then got on the phone and talked for some time while I sat around bored and managed to get myself worked into anger by Dad.)

So now I'll really truly tear myself away from the oh so intense JOY of diarylanding and watch the rest of Law & Order or have some more ice cream or write some fic or I don't know what.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top