ramble ramble

06.29.02 @ 8:56 p.m.

Since I shelled out for one of these here Gold memberships, I'm thinking about employing those 3 optional info box thingies for what music I'm listening to. But then again, I acutally usually update with the TV on. I think perhaps I am unwittingly watching America's Most Wanted. Which means the clock is wrong on this computer. Damn. It's like, 4 minutes slow. Keeping Up Appearances is already on. Ah, Britcoms. Richard is taking early retirement tonight. How many times have I seen this episode? Why do I watch this show when I don't like it anymore? Oh, yeah... because I'm bored and lazy. Actually, I intend to finally watch Quadraphenia after I finish up here.

Speaking of the marvelous Who, I sort of learned to play Boris the Spider tonight. That's not to say I have it memorized, not by far, but Dad brought down the electric guitar and I dinked around with the tableture... But I think I have it fairly well... I just need to memorize the lyrics. The book I have isn't very good in that it doesn't show the whole song, just certain guitar licks from the songs. But I don't want to hurt my dad's feelings, since he bought it for me after taking me to a dog show, so I'm trying to use it. The fingertips on my left hand are tingling something awful. I should have practiced guitar more this year, but I haven't, and now I'm just going to have to go through callous building all over again. Or maybe it won't ever go away. I'm playing more in this last year than I ever have in my life. But I don't remember this sensation from when I played the violin. Then again, I was a very little kid when I played violin, so I really don't remember much.

Still unemployed, but my mom has stopped nagging me because she's realized there are pretty much no jobs to be had ANYWHERE in the Hillsboro/Beaverton area. Plus she's said she'd rather support me than have me work during the school year. Of course, that only applies to off campus jobs. If I worked on campus, she'd be thrilled, but she doesn't want me to apply at the Springfield Target or somewhere like that.

My parents went to a baseball game of all things tonight. They invited me to go, several times, but, well, I'd rather do just about anything else. So I've sat around, played with the guitar, ate a Subway sandwich, some ice cream, and some mozerella sticks. Now I'm here, with much ado. Why did I just write that? I really don't know. I mentioned the baseball game because I thought I heard them driving up, coming home, but now I think it might have been thunder or something. The sky is all cloudy again, after a very brief sunbreak this afternoon. Or maybe it's Mt. Hood erupting. You never know. It shook this afternoon.

You know, I've been thinking all day that it would totally rock if Mt. Hood erupted. But now I'm feeling bad for that, because if it did, all the people at Timberline and Govt. Camp would probably die. And I'd rather like to visit Timberline Lodge someday. My parents had their honeymoon there, though that's not why I want to see it. And I don't even like snow sports, either. I'm not sportsy at all.

I think I've run out of diaryland momentum. I don't think I have anything else to write about. I had a dream the other day about Jessica and Rachel, which is kind of neat, because I've never actually met them. We were all going to go watch Monkee eps in our pajamas.

Oh, I have thought of something I want to at least briefly mention. Rach and I have been doing a little bit of fic swapping the last couple of days. I'm glad that I have someone that I'm not ashamed to show my fic to. Someone who'll read it and give opinons (though she doesn't give many)... Just someone else who is a fic writer, who I can reciprocate with (I read her fic, Monkees and non)... Though, I don't think I'll share Propinquity with her. I don't think I'll ever share Propinquity with anyone without seriously rewriting it. My fic, like most of my writing, has a tendency to be overwrought. I overdo the tensions. And sometimes I can bloody well ruin it for myself. I wrote a very, very emotional scene once during Linguistics when I wasn't paying attention. Even though I was just borrowing the characters and setting from another story and didn't plan to actually use those events, it made it hard for me to think about those characters anymore. I just didn't want to write for Rowen for a long time. Sometimes I write bits for later on in the story, but not often. I'm working on another character now instead.

Thinking of Linguistics and the horror that class entailed, I need to check my grades for the last term. Ta.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top