quadrophenia

06.30.02 @ 12:20 a.m.

My. God. I loved this movie. It was fucking fantastic. Maybe I'm too much of an anglophile (Sometimes I think I want to be British... Imagine what my Irish Catholic mother would say, she didn't like Davy Jones as a young woman because he was a Brit. I'm even vaguely looking into a study abroad in England. I was so crushed when Mom said we couldn't go over to England that summer we went all around Galway and the Dingle Penninsula. We got as far as Waterford, but didn't go further east or much north of it except in the west, where we mostly skipped around Co. Galway. Anyway, back to the show)... I had no problems with the accents at all, though some of the reviews I just read on IMDb complained about it. Fantastic. Fucking fantastic. I loved it. I don't have much more to say, except that I'd highly recommend it. *sigh* I rather like Mods.

I also rather admire punks. I think I'd like to be anything rather than the apathetic conformist that I am, but I don't have the courage to stand out in any way except that I don't follow modern music or really fashion except in a very, very casual way... I don't care for drugs, even though I spend 2/3 of the year in hippie haven Eugene, I have no urge to binge drink despite being a college student in the dorms, surrounded on occasion by drunken revelers. I read, unlike a lot of people... I'm unashamedly intellectual, but I also really dig science fiction and fantasy books sometimes. I use words like 'dig' in writing and to my parents, but not really to my friends. Great, now I'm going into self analysis mode, and I fucking hate self analysis mode. Because I always end up feeling bad. Because I hate myself for my shyness and inability to get my real personality through to other people. I'm a total nutcase. I imagine that if I weren't terrified of people, I would be a lot of fun. At least I'd have more fun. But I don't. I sit by myself, I don't talk unless I really have something to say, and I can't seem to capture the really fun, manic, crazy me unless I'm all by myself, completely and utterly alone. I think that's just about the only thing I don't like about myself consistantly: my paralzying shyness. Occasonally I'm dissatisfied with myself physically, but most of the time I just don't give a damn. *sigh* I shouldn't watch angst movies and then head for Diaryland. Bad combo. Uh huh.

But seriously... Go rent Quadrophenia. It's marvolous. Wonderful. Brilliant. I love Jimmy (Phil Daniels). And it's got Sting in it.

And shout "Bellboy!" at the appropriate moment :)... I think I would have, if it weren't so late at night with my parents in bed. God the go to bed early. How boring are they?

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top