call me lightning

06.23.02 @ 5:59 p.m.

Pppppfffffweeeeeeeooooooooooooo.... I don't know why I just did that. I feel like making odd sounds.

So Ann Landers died. I read this really long article about her today and found out that she was named Esther Pauline and her twin sister was named Pauline Esther. I have issues with that. I mean, I would never do that to my kids if I had twins. What happens if one doesn't like their first name and opts to go by their middle name, like Mike Nesmith, Micky Dolenz, or my friend Paige? They chose not to go by Robert, George, and Ashley respectively. I know I wouldn't want to be an Esther. I'm spelling that wrong, I'm sure of it. Oh well. She declared that no one would replace her when she died, even though she replaced a different Ann Landers. Aren't we little Miss Ego? Jeez, I'm mean when I talk about people. Anyway, now where will I go to laugh at people's moronic problems? Apart from Dear Abby, I mean? Like the lady who broke her neck and warned ominously about the 'dangers of satin sheets.' Martha and I still occassionally have a laugh about that one.

I will laugh and laugh if Martha Stewart gets arrested for insider trading. Not that she's done anything to deserve my anger, I just find it funny when people get caught. Especially high profile people.

Last night was the best TV night EVER. First, I watched Henry V with my mom, who complemented the photography. That's good, I was worrying the whole time about her not liking the film. I love Shakespeare, and Dad had been getting on my case about it at dinner, plus I was a bit huffy that Mom wasn't going to watch it with me at first. But then Dad offered to clear out so I could hook my laptop up to the big TV (the only TV I can hook it up to since the cord connects at the back, and Dad doesn't want to take out the big TV to detatch the cord). Yaay. Then the Ian McKellan SNL was on, and I LOVE LOVE LOVE that one, mainly just for the part where he kisses Jimmy Fallon, and Jimmy makes a crack about being 'queened.' THEN, I finally got to see the Ewan McGregor episode of ER. I was so excited, but I had to stifle it because it was 1 a.m. and my parents were asleep. Geesh, my parents go to bed so early. I can't believe it. Pfft. Old people. I mean, it's summer-- I don't have school, Mom doesn't have school and Dad works from home. It's not like they have to get up early. Then again, I'm frustrated with myself for staying up 'til 3 and sleeping 'til 11.

OOoh, this was really cool--I'm currently obsessed with the Who, and I noticed that the pinball machine in the Sims (Livin' Large, I think) is full of references to Tommy. I want to see Tommy someday... I put Quadraphenia on reserve at the library, and the Live at Leeds CD. I might post some of the weird screen shots I took from the sims, but they're on the laptop and I'd have to transfer them to CD, since my freakin' laptop REFUSES to connect to the internet.

Ta for now so I can go tell my dad about the pinball machine thing.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top