a rather long one with some shakespeare

06.09.02 @ 2:33 p.m.

Ha. I just spent a bunch of time talking to one of my roommate's Philosophy club buddies on the phone. She has been on the phone with him for TWO HOURS AND TWENTY MINUTES right now. I mean, damn. She had to use the bathroom and so I chatted with him about Monty Python.

I had kind of a cool dream that made me feel like I was having premonitions. The thing was that I dreamed the same thing twice, or I felt like I did. I experienced something once (walking along a chainlink fence with a small and very green park on the other side and people messing about there) and then I did again, but the second time I recognized it and was like, hey, that guy is going to be at the end of the fence again... It's so hard to explain. I thought it was pretty cool, though. The past couple of days my roommate has been waking up and hour before me and typing a bunch, which inexplicably keeps me very awake. Then I get all angry and passive-agressive.

I'm a little worried about that, actually. My dad and his mother tend to pull weird passive-agressive shit on people all the time, and I try to keep an eye on myself, because I don't want to be like them. Then again, I don't want to be all suppressed rage and overwhelming Catholic guilt like my mother. *sigh* I gotta be me, eh? Anyway, as I said, my roommate has been on the phone since... ah, I remember looking at the clock at 12:13 and she was on the phone then, so she's probably been on for quite a long time, longer than I think. I dragged my sorry ass out of bed (where I was finishing my reread of The Truce at Bakura, not one of my favorites, but not one of the horrible SW novels) and took a half hour long shower. My passive-agressiveness came after I got dressed. My hair was all wet and I wanted to blow dry it, but I didn't want to mess up her phone call, so I went into the communal hall bathroom to do it. But on the way out I clanged things around and shut the door loudly. I realized what I was doing out in the hall and tried to make myself calm down and be a bit more rational. I'm such an idiot.

I'm almost all packed up. I go home Thursday afternoon with Dad after my two difficult finals. Well, they're not the only hard finals. All my finals will be sort of hard. I have the LSDT tomorrow, which I need to study for today (I nearly failed the punctuation test, can you believe it?) and I have a six fucking page analysis of 15-35 lines of either Richard II or King Lear. I liked Richard II better for some reason (I really dig Shakespeare's histories, more than the others. Dunno why. Maybe it's Branagh in Henry V heh heh).

So I'm doing a 25 line bit out of Act V, scene v of Richard II.

Ha-ha- Keep time! How sour sweet music is
When time is broke and no proportion kept!
So is it in the music of men's lives.
And here have I the daintiness of ear
To check time broke in a disordered string;
But, for the concord of my state and time,
Had not an ear to hear my true time broke.
I wasted time, and now doth time waste me;
For now hath time made me his numbering clock:
My thoughts are minutes; and with sighs they jar
Their watches unto mine eyes, the outward watch,
Whereto my finger, like a dial's point,
Is pointing still, in cleansing them from tears.
Now, sir, the sound that tells what hour it is
Are clamorous groans, which strike upon my heart,
Which is the bell. So sighs and tears and groans
Show minutes, times, and hours. But my time
Runs posting on in Bolingbroke's proud joy,
While I stand fooling here, his Jack of the clock.
This music mads me. Let it sound no more;
For though it have holp madmen to their wits,
In me it seems it will make wise men mad.
Yet blessing on his heart that gives it me!
For 'tis a sign of love, and love to Richard
Is a strange brooch in this all-hating world.

Tra-laa. I love that speech. I also like the "Let us sit upon the floor and tell sad stories" bit. Now the only tricky bit it coming up with a thesis to argue. Oh, silly me putting the quote before the argument, although I guess I could argue that it shows Richard's realization of his weakness in prison. Hmmmm... He realizes to late what a weak king is and why he fell. It all came to late. He got shocked out of his nice little world where everyone hopped to it because, dammit, he was KING. To go against the King in Elizabethan times was to go against God, since the King was God's chosen representative on earth. Yep. The primate (highest ranking being) of the human world is the King, according to Tilyard and the Chain of Being. But this doesn't really help me because, well, the chain of being doesn't really fit that well. Lots of good metaphorical stuff in this quote, though. A theme of music matches his historical representation as a patron of art (thank you World Book encyclopedia) (and Dr. Wheeler, who taught my OTHER Shakespeare class this term... I'm a lit geek. My dad is going to be pissed... He hates his intellectual brother, but I have rather a lot in common with him. But I share musicality with Dad, so he'll just have to live with me being a brain and a music lover). So--In summary: Richard II=weak, art lovin' pansy king. The very use of music as metaphor for his own inability to see his own mistakes and weakness highlights that he was concerned with the wrong things BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH. I think I've sufficiently bored everyone.

Oh, yeah, and I've become addicted to watching Trading Spaces just as I'm not going to have cable anymore. Damn again.

Okay, edit at 6 PM-- Owen Wilson is a clone of Dennis Hopper.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top