just because someone disagrees with you, you can't deny their freedom of speech.

06.06.02 @ 9:40 p.m.

I got this from Martha and I'm pretty shocked at the original author. I haven't thought up something articulate enough to reply to this guy. Ugh. And if you're offended that I'm offended, well, then, you probably shouldn't be reading this diary anyway.

Hi guys. I got the following e-mail, and I was quite shocked:

Dear all: A movie that is coming out in 2002 claiming that both Jesus and his disciples were gay. There is already a play that went on for a while. The play and movie are titled "Corpus Christi" which is Latin and translates to "Body of Christ". This is sickening and revolting to all true believers! We can all do something! Please send this to ALL of your friends to sign to stop the movie from showing in America. Already certain areas in Europe have started to ban it from coming to their country and we can Stop it too! We just need a lot of signatures, and you can help! Please do not delete this! Jesus said, "Deny Me before men and I will deny you before the Father."

Please help!

PLEASE SIGN AND SEND TO EVERYONE YOU KNOW! IF WE WORK TOGETHER WE CAN

BAN THIS! Bob Rogers

IMPORTANT: Once 500 have signed, kindly mail to [email protected]

Needless to say, I did not send it on. I e-mailed her back and kindly said this:

As a matter of fact I've been wanting to see this as a movie since I heard of the play. The subject matter sounds interesting. In addition, there is such a thing as satire. Another thing perhaps you are aware of is something many of us refer to as FREEDOM OF SPEECH, which is something similar to freedom of religion. There is also the option of not going to see a movie which you may find offensive.

What I think you guys should do is kindly mail good old [email protected] and tell him to kiss your sweet agnostic/atheist/Christian ass and tell your friends to do the same (no, don't have them kiss your ass, have them mail Tommy-boy. Whether they kiss your ass is a private issue). Well, you don't have to mail him, but at least be appalled. Or maybe you, too, are a person who does not believe in the freedoms I mentioned. In that case, I am as shocked to learn that about you as I was to learn it about the friend who sent this to me.

No flames, please. I won't respond and I'll delete anything written in my guestbook or notes.


On a completely different note, I did about four loads of laundry today. My plan is to set out (probably tomorrow, not tonight) clothes for the next week and stuff my wintery clothes in the laundry bag to prepare for the trip home. I've taken down all but two of my small pictures and only my four big Beatles posters remain on my wall. Oh, and my calendar and my dry erase boards. One in the room and one on the outer door. Okay, so that's the only real door in the room. Whatever. I also need to sell my old textbooks, though I may just keep the New Folger Library editions of Henry V and King Lear. New Folger Library is cool... I dunno. I have this ratty Complete Works of Shakespeare that I bought for a dollar at the library. I think I might hang on to all my Shakespeare plays from this year instead, but I'm not sure. I can always sell them later.

Bloody hell, I'm taking the LSDT on Monday. I think my only other finals are on Thursday, but I haven't started my lit paper either. But now I'm more concerned with seeing an ER I haven't seen yet.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top