monkeegirls take heed

05.16.02 @ 12:06 a.m.

I'm really kind of fucked right now, Shakespeare wise, but I'm going to continue to be naughty and say a few things about Monkees fans.

First, it both amuses and annoys me that Monkeegirls (and the rare few Monkeeguys out there) go tossing the term "Frodis" around with NO idea what it means. Ha ha ha, it's Micky's word! And we love Micky! Maybe some of the smarter ones don't need to be told it's Mick's little code word for pot. And maybe I'm one of the only people in the world who doesn't like the idea of losing the least little bit of my self control... the idea being so abhorrent that I don't even want to go near drugs or even alcohol, really. Because it sounds so fun to stagger home (hopefully, it's your home) and then collapse or vomiting all over the landscape because, "Dude, you're so fucking pissed, hahahahaha!" So maybe this little mental thing doesn't hurt my superior and arrogant image. I say I don't mind other people using drugs, and I guess I don't, but I have to say I lose a lot of my respect for them. I have to be honest, and I can be here. What the hell. What's the point of lying to a diary? Well, when it's public like this, you do have the opportunity to hurt your friends if you so desire. But, you know what, it's a fucking diary. If they get hurt, it isn't really your fault. You're expressing your feelings, and fuck them if they have something against what you think. Now I've strayed far afield. I was making my complaints about Monkeegirls. I do have a few problems with some of them. There was a big issue a while back about newbies taking pictures off established sites without permission and claiming them as theirs. I have been very careful to avoid this, and I don't mind seeing my pictures on the sites of people who have had the decency to ask me. Because at nearly two years of fostering little GCF along, I feel I can claim the title "established site." I've been involved with Melisssa.net, I have fanfic posted in multiple places, and I've had several thousand hits. There are lots of sites way more popular than mine, and I have a way to go, I think, before my site is good enough to be one of those that everyone knows, like EHMI, or Melisssa.net, or Ninetimesblue, just those sites that, well, almost everyone knows. My other dream, Monkees internet community wise, is to write a really good story. I don't aspire to be Madame Spy, writer of the Isabel stories which absolutely EVERYONE has read, and if you haven't... oh, have you ever missed out. Go to GCF, go to the links, find... 1334 Beachwood, I think it's called now, and read them. Some of them are really heavy. The Micky and Magdelene ones, Serendipity, and Hamlet are my faves. Anyway, my original point is that it doesn't bother me if someone has the decency to ASK me if they can use my pictures, like Heather, who has been very kind and flattering to me and whom I love dearly. I miss her, and when she started her fledgling site, I gave her my earnest permission to use my pictures. And she linked to me, which was my request on my gallery pages. But it pisses me off no end to see my pictures on other sites and the girl hasn't had the decency to email me, LET ALONE sign my guestbook to ask permission or acknowledge all the work I put into my site. Hours and hours of labor and uncountable amounts of love and frustration have built my site, and that anyone would have the unmitigated gall to take the products of my work without even a "Hi, nice site" or a simple email saying "Can I use some of your pictures?" I will almost always, except in extreme cases, say yes, and I'll link to sites that ask because I'm grateful they were considerate enough to ask.

So, if you're a Monkeegirl webmistress, and you read this--for fuck's sake, how hard is it to email the person who put a lot of time and effort into their page and FUCKING ASK if you can use the products of their labor. To do anything else is just rude and inconsiderate.

This bothers me more than I let on. I try to be nice to people who have started webbuilding after I established GCF, but it's hard to see something you've worked to produce being claimed by someone else. And you may say "What work? She scanned a few pictures." But I have gone through so much frustration and difficulty to keep GCF afloat in recent months. I haven't had the time to update like I'd like to because I'm at school and I don't have time to produce pages like I have in the past. All the hassle with Geocities, all the trouble I've gone through before that to find a new provider, to recode massive sections of my site, this took me hours and hours on top of the time I spent on the original versions of many of the pages. I was recently asked why I don't change the layout on the index page. GCF's main page has essentially the same layout it originally had with one or two changes. I have no reason to fix it, I don't like frames that much, and fuck, nostalgia. Why change what has worked for me for so long? I remember sitting down and building the very first index page, back when it was Magnolia's Monkees Site. I still have my first logo banner and I have all the ones I've made since. I see no reason to overhaul what I've worked long and hard to create. I like it the way it is, and I see no problems with the current layout. Maybe in the future GCF will evolve a little more, but I have less and less time for it now, and fewer and fewer sources to work from. I had a summer of brilliant productivity because Belle's things and the flush of recently renewed Monkeemania had brought forth many things. But if I haven't hit the wall, I'm coming awfully close. There isn't that much more for me to work from. And, as I mentioned before, I just plain don't have the time for GCF that I used to.

Now that I've bored you all with my hopefully guilt inspiring rant, I have to go-before I get more defensive, and before I fall asleep. I have to get up early tomorrow, I have to get dressed up, and I have to become Lords Burgundy, Westmoreland, and Exeter well enough that I don't fuck up my lines like I did all through rehearsal.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top