sweet cherry wine, so very fine

05.05.02 @ 3:49 p.m.

Ow, ow, my eyes are bleeding. Don't worry, not literally. It's just that I just spent freaking forever on that banner up there (ooh, aaah) and the color doesn't quite match. I tried, lord how I tried, but I guess I'll just have to live with it, at least until I can motivate myself enough to try another one or some other graphics. I kind of figured "What the hell, I paid for this gold membership, I might as well USE it, ya know? I'm starting to worry about my lack of initiative in getting my assigned papers done. Shit, I need to double check on when the Shakespeare paper is due, because I'm not positive.

I'm so bad at getting things done in a timely manner. If there isn't a deadline staring me down, I won't do it. Not when there are other fun things to do. But I think I've ruminated on my procrastination enough for my own sake.

I'm trying something out this week. Lately I've been feeling unhappy with my body. I think I might be gaining weight but I'm not really sure. My hips still hurt for no apparent reason and I just feel unhealthy. So- This week I'm trying an exercise in will power. I'm avoiding candy, bakery goods with tons of refined sugar (incl. doughnuts, muffins, cakes, cookies, etc.), soda/pop, however you want to say it, (That is apparently a regional thing. I dunno, I use both terms.) and fried things, like, um, fries and pretty much anything at Hammy's, the burger joint on campus. I had been eating pretty well for a while, and then I got back into drinking Pepsi and eating candy, which is really bad. I was pretty damn proud of myself for a while there. I think I might go to Carson tonight and have some salad. (By the way, in an effort to eat at Carson more often, I'm letting myself have frozen yogurt as an incentive. It could be worse. Really. It could be.) Sweet, there's going to be turkey tonight at Carson.

There's something I noticed that I do. I adulterate expressions all the time, but I only use them in my head or in personal writing. Like, 'for the love of Mike's hat.' But now I have this new one I keep using, and it's really almost annoying. As an exlamation, I've started mentally using the phrase "Sweet cherry wine!" I blame Tommy James and the Shondells and SNL. There is a TJ&S song called "Sweet Cherry Wine" that I really like, and a few weeks ago, Saturday Night Live did that sketch with the new agey hippish old couple with Will Ferrel and Rachel Dratch, and Will said something like, "What more could I ask for, sweet cherry wine?" I don't know. I say it with the same tone that you'd use to say "Sweet Mother of God!" and the like. I am just such an odd girl.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top