oh my darlin' clementine

04.30.02 @ 12:56 p.m.

So I watched two episodes of Frontier House last night. I'm loving this program, especially since there's a few very likeable people and one family that I just hate with an intensity. There's something fun about being about to get angry at something, be it a book or a movie or TV show or whatever. Don't be a drooling lump when you watch TV. Shout, harangue, laugh, you know... REACT. Just because some people think you're crazy doesn't mean it's not fun. What do you think the appeal of Survivor is? This show is a little similar except that the people aren't competing for anything. There is no prize except a genuine experience. That sounds really cool to me. That's not saying that I think I could participate in such a thing, but I think I'd do better than those prissy Clune girls. They admitted to having smuggled in makeup, as if it weren't painfully obvious that they were wearing it the whole time. They're so vain! I've only worn makeup at Prom and at my brother's wedding. YOU CAN FUCKING SURVIVE WITHOUT IT, but these girls, and their mother were on the verge of TEARS on the first day they said "No makeup, unless you're a barroom floozy." They had smuggled in Herbal Essances Shampoo, toothpaste, you name it. They gave some stuff over into the "Honesty Box" at the beginning, but they still had tons of smuggled good. The whole family cheats. It's disgraceful. The dad starts the whole thing by whining that they don't get to hunt because it's against the law, that he doesn't get to use the AUTHENTIC GUN he bought for his son... God, this guy just buys anything he wants and can't handle when things don't exactly go his way. I'm starting to wish that whatever SoCal company he was head of dot-bombed or something. But the girls just bitch and moan the whole time. You know what, you volunteered. No use bitching about it. And of course, since they weren't used to you know, uh, budgeting ANYTHING, they totally blew through their food. Previews for the next two episodes show them worrying about starvation. It was their own fault that they're suffering.

Karen's family, I forget their last name, now they have it together. Karen's micromanagement has them all set with a lot of their original supplies. They did get the benefit of starting with a completed cabin, but they almost lost their cow. That family is adapting perfectly. I'd like to think my family would handle the situation like that.

I'm really looking forward to watching it again tonight and the final two tomorrow night. It's FASCINATING. Yeah, so it's kind of like a high class version of Survivor, without all the plotting against one another, but so what? I loved the first Survivor. I think this show would be great in a school setting or something. Yeah, it's like six hours of TV. When I was in Elementary school, we went to a pioneer schoolhouse for a day and that was fun. A full scale re-enactment like this is probably dirty and gross and unpleasant to someone used to, uh, modern conveniences, but that's like a once in a lifetime thing.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top