too much of anything

04.20.05 @ 12:06 a.m.

It's late, but I'm awake because I slept most of the day away. I took a sick day, and I was pretty earnestly sick, though I could have gone to class, I suppose. I'm pretty much better already. And it kills me a little bit to have not gone on the day we were to discuss ROMANCE in my Feminism class. I just couldn't face finishing the reading and writing up the sythesis with fatigue and a hellishly sore throat, then I woke up feeling vaguely ill and wondering if I was going to throw up if I moved to quickly. That, I decided, was reason enough to not go to school. It would not be fun to throw up on the bus or in class. I was theoretically going to use my sick day to catch up on my reading, but god knows I can't stick to anything like that. And now I am further behind still, because I cannot do a damn thing. It's getting to be midterm time and I'm going to find myself screwed over.

I think I need to ban myself from the internet tomorrow. I will go to school, skim the poems that are the options for a group presentation in my break, class-class-class, come home, make my goddamned dentist appointment, do all my feminism homework (no TV - not even the news!) and then start working on the backlog. LOST is a rerun, so no worries there. I don't watch anything else on a Wednesday, except maybe Alias but I'm not that devoted to it. That much reading will probably make me a little crazy, but I need to make sure that I don't do anything that will make hours drain away like water through a sieve. Midterms are coming - I get my take home test for Detective Fic tomorrow. I have to write a paper for english at some point, I think. I need to check on that.

I guess I'm torn between "I love school and wish I could keep taking fascinating classes for my entire life" and "ARRGH I hate this I'm going to have a fucking breakdown." The problem is mostly this term. There's so much I'm expected to keep up with, and it's like every fucking teacher (except my amusing Australian Geology prof) thinks that his or her students don't have any other classes or commitments. I don't understand how I can keep up with the sheer amount of reading I'm expected to do without going crazy or my eyeballs falling out. (I have to admit that part of my time problem is my resurrecting my bead loom out of intense need for a craft project. Right now I want to keep working on this neat Victorian design I adapted out of The Englishwoman's Domestic Magazine, after spending an hour in the library going through all the archives. That's really only about 8 books, and I only spent time on the last two, as they were the ones with the most embroidery and beading patterns laid out in a grid. God knows what I'll do with a two inch wide strip of elaborate beadwork when I finish the pattern. I'm vaguely thinking of making a cloth backing and turning it into a guitar strap for my acoustic, but that'll require more beads.)

ALSO: I am going to go up to Portland on Friday to get my car. Originally, Dad was going to bring it down and have an 'adventure' by taking the bus back up to Portland himself. Things are not progressing as quickly as he would like, however, and that is cancelled so that there is time for him to get my windshield replaced. I won't be able to make a weekend of it, though, due to homework (and no homework gets done in PDX) and will drive back down Saturday morning. I suppose I could take darling Robert out for a walk on Friday. I miss him after having him in all last weekend.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top