nnngggggh

04.16.05 @ 11:10 p.m.

My car... poor Johnny, he isn't working. My mom and I got ourselves all settled for a nice trip to the craft store (funny how it's now automatically assumed that when it's just me and mom, I will drive) and my car just would not start. It didn't even make the telltale click of dead-or-nearly-dead battery. Just... nothingness. I very nearly started to cry when Mom and I took off in her car while Dad poked around in mine.

I am very unhappy about it, but I decided that it was really for the best; if Johnny had not decided to die here, I would have been at a total loss in Eugene. As it is, Mom will likely drive me down tomorrow (incidentally giving me an opportunity to get my bicycle back, though where exactly I will park it is as yet unknown) and sometime in the course of next week, Dad will bring me my car and "have an adventure" by taking Greyhound (or Amtrak bus if that is still running) back up to Portland. He also says that when he comes, we'll set up a planter box on the deck outside my house/apartment.

Dad made up for my anger of last night (though he did not know he was doing anything of the sort) by being exceptionally nice today. Well, he's always at least somewhat considerate and my parents consistantly amaze me by rather spoiling me when I'm at home. Today, apart from getting things set to get my car fixed, he bathed my stinky little doggy (though I did help) and thus I was able to spend most of the day with little Bobby. He's so wonderfully affectionate, and the most adorable thing is how... sensual he is. He likes being rubbed, and he seemed to be absolutely in heaven when I was drying him with the towel.

I've started fussing with my old bead loom again, because I'm feeling a rather desperate need to something with my hands, create something, or I'll go crazy. That's why I went to the craft store, but I didn't find anything I particularly wanted to do. I keep half thinking I'd take up knitting like a good little hipster girl, but I really loathe the idea of knitting things for some reason. I do rather like the idea of learning to sew, like actually make clothing, though actually, I'd just as soon make like, purses and stuffed animals and smaller things. An interestingly patterned cloth might make a nice skirt. Mmm. I should steal Mom's sewing machine after all. After so much reading and reading and reading, it's so ridiculously satisfying to produce something tangible.

Right now I'm making a pair of large and rather absurd earrings with the bead loom. Hee hee hee. The only problem with the bead loom is that it's a lot of fiddly little work that makes my eyes hurt as much as reading and computers.

Oh, how I will miss having my car! It's amazing how quickly you get used to and attached to such things.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top