take what you have gathered from coincidence

04.14.05 @ 10:12 p.m.

I could not resist buying a pretty scarf in the hair things aisle of the grocery store tonight. This is in part because they are SO 1967 that I was delighted. Also, I love scarves. Love them.

I wonder if I'm running myself ragged by procrastinating on things. I put off doing my Feminism reading because my eyes hurt last night. I think that my eyes hurt from nearly falling asleep in Intro, but you can't just close your eyes and listen when you're sitting in the fourth row or so. So when I got tired, my eyes would start to cross (or at least, that's what it felt like) and after a while of getting drowsy and waking myself up, they started to hurt.

And it's not like I didn't do the reading. I read... most of the bits from Walden we were supposed to read, though I kept getting distracted by fantasizing about building a fort in the woods around my parents' house. There's a tiny cast iron stove, a pot-bellied stove, that I played with as a child. As far as I know, it's functional, and I always wanted to build some kind of little house and use that to heat it. I told my dad this when I called him on Wednesday and he told me about how he and his brother built a teepee out in the woods, covered it in painter's canvas after they read Thoreau... If it was the woods at the farm, Dad had to be 19 or 20, and Uncle Pretentious would have been in high school.

So, anyway, I got home today after Feminism and within an hour and a half, I was fast asleep in my bed. I stayed asleep until 7 pm or so and I slept deeply. It felt so wonderful. The downside is that I'm supposed to be done with The Dain Curse tomorrow and I've only read 11 pages. It's almost certain that Boren will ruin the end, but maybe the petty 'ner ner' attitude he took on Monday will just be a one time thing. A girl can hope, anyway. Neither have I read whatever the hell we're supposed to have read for Intro. I'm thinking that I should stop at the public library on my way up to Portland tomorrow and get the audiobook of Mary Shelly's Frankenstein so I won't have to worry about catching up on that particular reading.

SO NOW I'M RESTED BUT FURTHER FUCKING BEHIND. And add to that the fact that I'm going home tomorrow for an early birthday thing for my dad. I better call him before I go, or maybe during my 2 hr break between classes to make sure we aren't misunderstanding each other about WHEN I am to go up to Portland. This weekend is good, next weekend is bad for me because I'll be doing my take home exam on Dashiell Hammett. (Oh man, do I love Dashiell Hammett.)

I need to start using my damn cell phone. I had to refill the minutes so I wouldn't lose the old ones when they expire, and now I have 250. Guessin' I don't need to hoard them, do I?

I listened to my Scoop tape in the car today, and I forgot how much I truly, truly love that album. "Melancholia" and "Magic Bus" and "Popular" and "Cookin'" OH MY GOD "Cookin'." Makes me fall in love with Townshend all over again.

Speaking of, this was on Dooce the other day:

What is not up for discussion, however, is Led Zeppelin and how much she will love them, how she will kneel at the altar of The Who and pray to the God of Radiohead. And lo, I command that she name her first child Pete and her second child Townshend, lest her soul and flesh burn for eternity, her salvation lost to The Demon, Boy Bands.

<3 <3 <3

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top