some comments on sin city

04.09.05 @ 12:37 a.m.

If you don't have a strong stomach for violence, don't go.

The art is lovely, and clearly works off of a lot of comic book (serious, gritty, graphic novel) conventions.

I'm so, so glad that I went to see the movie tonight. I invited Moni along, which is good, because we don't hang out often enough. For one thing, I spent the entire drive home desperately wishing to a) draw images like the ones in the film or b) rewrite Traveller in a colder, more violent form. As it stands, Traveller is nice, capable of violence but generally good. Celeste kills, but she doesn't have that kind of hardness that is necessary.

Mickey Rourke scares the bajeezus out of me. He did in Spun and he does now.

Lastly, on a whim, instead of wearing the black Chuck Taylors I wear every day, I decided to wear my bright red ones instead. No real reason, except I was going out and wanted to look slightly flashier than usual. I am SO GLAD. It means Clive Owen has to marry me now.

Do I want Clive Owen to marry me? I... I don't know. He's probably the most attractive (to me) man in the film, though I really liked the Bruce Willis storyline. Benicio Del Toro (not that I much like him in general) looks like a thicker, scarier version of Jack White. Elijah Wood.... *shudder*

I think I liked the Clive Owen bits best.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top