i can't get no big red panties

03.26.05 @ 1:10 a.m.

I've realized that I have a special, affected voice for singing along with Billy Joe Armstrong. I wonder if I do this with other artists, or if I do, if it's as obvious.

Today has been a mediocre day that turned to the good.

I'm a little embarassed that I was still in my pyjamas (pajamas? I'm sure it's a regional thing that can often be avoided by just saying "PJs") when my sister arrived. We took the boys (Roger and Bobby) out to a school to run around in the huge field, which made me anxious initially, as I was sure they would run out onto the busy street and get run over. They did okay, and it was really nice to spend time with Bobby Dylan. I thought I'd spend all week with him, but really, I've been gone a lot, especially in the evenings. It ends up that I get home to late to go fetch him and have him in with me.

Joanne bought us ice cream, which was pretty cool. Otherwise, though, I just kind of killed time in her presence, apart from a short "ergh people everyone just leave me alone" period where I retreated upstairs.

My horoscope today told me that my secret love is waiting for a cue from me. I don't know what to make of this, because in the words of Spam, "I have a crush on every boy." With judicious exceptions. Many judicious exceptions.

The defining event of the day, though, was the evening trip to Starbucks. I have spend so much time with Amy and Martha this week! At first it was us, and I was unconsciously kind of mean to Moni over the phone ("We're waiting for you!"), but she came to join us and we had a rousing couple of games of This Vs That. Amy and Moni, at one point, made the critical error of allowing the Ellen-Martha team to form. We're pretty unbeatable. And This Vs That frequently provides some hilarious combination of words. Martha was guessing a list of things associated with the Rolling Stones. Moni was giving her the clue "I Can't Get No..." and I was saying that a previous answer, "red panties" had a modifier on it. What ended up happening was that Moni said "I can't get no..." and Martha, listening to me, finished "Big red panties." Hence the entry title.

Moni left, and we fussed with my cell phone's AIM capabilities until we coerced Slavik into joining us. Boy apparently knows EVERYONE. It's crazy. Our conversations revolved around the penis, which is something I don't expect when Andrew isn't present. There was a lenghthy discussion of why dudes think mermaids are sexy and how a mermaid and a man would have sex. Martha does not think mermaids breathe underwater but rather come up for air like whales and dolphins. I think she is crazy. Also up for debate is whether mermaids have live birth or lay eggs like a fish, and if a mermaid-human baby would drown immediately and what it would look like. There were a lot of other conversations and suggestions of t-shirt slogans. ("Everything's better down where it's wetter" and "It's not me, it's just my penis" were the main two. I told Slavik he and a special lady friend should each wear the gender-appropriate one and stroll down the street arm in arm.)

Slavik left around midnight and we left not long after.

And that brings us back to the now.

Tomorrow's plan: Bride and Prejudice with my mom and eventually back to Eugene.

Vacation is over! Sad, sad, sad!

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top