you're my best friend

12.29.04 @ 5:15 p.m.

There have been several days of nothing special. Jodi has been pretty ever-present... today is pretty much the first day I haven't seen her since she got home from Australia.

And oh, it's petty of me, but I find it irritating that she cannot open her mouth without some anglicism or Australian turn of phrase falling out. And while I do understand what she's saying, she doesn't seem to realize that she's doing it fucking constantly. And then I have to explain what she's saying to my parents.

But it's nice to see her. And generally, I forget that it's easy enough to talk to her and fall into old habits of friendship. She is, after all, the closest thing to a sister I have (discounting the fact that I do, indeed, have a sister, though we are not at all close). Last night I watched the first half of P&P with her and Shrek 2. It's kind of nice to see her family, too. Her brother is a good (though rapidly aging) kid, and her dad is nice enough even though her mother is a fucking loon. Mostly she's been coming down to visit us down here at my house, but last night I went up to her house. I drove, partly because I could and partly because I didn't want to walk home past the murder pond in the dark. Jo lives less than an eighth of a mile from me. (Murder pond: in the 1940s, when it was a popular swimmin' hole, a dude killed another dude over a lady by drowning.)

Vacation, otherwise, is rapidly draining away. I have to go back next Sunday. I'm spending time with my dog, Bobby, who has gotten totally smelly again from living in the barn with his brother. Very, very smelly. But I had him in this morning to keep me company after he got Baby's First Rabies Shot (tm). I'm also hanging out with my parents, though not so much. They're out or I'm asleep or something like that. There's just a long, slow lethargy to my life right now, and while I'd just as soon be done with this, I don't want to fling myself into responsibility again, either.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top