everything weaving together

12.04.04 @ 12:49 a.m.

It's weird that everything is a big net of connections today.

First, I picked up an issue of the Eugene Weekly for the first time in at least a year, because there is rarely anything of interest in the EW. If I'm going to pick up an alt weekly, I'm going to take the Mercury. The movie reviews might but total and utter crap (along with most of the articles), but there are a couple of good columns and the Perry Bible Fellowship. So today I drove to the park and ride to go to the library rather than try to park in the dark on the streets of downtown Eugene, but I was about 15 minutes early for the bus (having not bothered reading the schedules), got bored, and picked up a copy of the EW. Go figure that it was the issue with a picture of Khmer (James) from Dumbrella and a short blurb on his site, sorryeverybody.com.

Then tonight I watched Lock, Stock & Two Smoking Barrels. I kept thinking about my old story cycle (Sea & Sand and I Can't Reach You) and at the very end, I decided that the actor who played Eddie would be a good mental model for Charlie, though I have had several mental models for Charlie already. There are some things that make this seem oddly right, though.

From IMDb:

Nick Moran first hit the big screen in 1990, alongside Roger Daltrey and Chesney Hawkes, in Buddy's Song (1990).

This last one is a stretch -- His name is Nick. Hmm, who else do we know whose name is Nick?

The Who Boy, of course.

So it seems monumentally perfect that he become my model for Charlie. (Using real people is just a thing I do. South African Max is my model for Simon, the hero of my NaNovel.)

Speaking of the South African, I had a dream about him the other night. I can't remember what it was about. Only that it was nice. Perhaps very nice indeed, but I'm not sure if that was the real dream or me trying to influence the dream after waking up and going back to sleep. You know how you do. At least, I know how I do. It almost never works. Today was my last day to see him in class. I am not heartbroken or anything, but hey, it's nice to have something aesthetically pleasing to look at every now and then. Last class for English 220, while I had my last film and folklore classes yesterday.

I gotta stop now. Tired, my eyes hurt, and I have three novels out from the library.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top