too many goddamn things to do

11.28.04 @ 4:55 p.m.

I am in the midst of moving. Internet access is SPORADIC.

I am in my nearly-empty old house now, because I can use the phone line here still and also I am supposed to be sweeping and mopping the floors. Of course, I took a break to go to the NaNo meeting, which is just an exercise in feeling inadequate because almost everyone has effing finished already. At least, everyone who goes to the meetings. I still have about 6,000 words to go, and I'm going to try to get some done tonight, but I also need to read as much as I can of Bone, which is a novel of Chinese immigrants and I'm sorry if this sounds terrible, but I am so fucking sick of that kind of story. I guess I've read too much Amy Tan. Or maybe this class I'm in has used too much immigrant literature and that is what makes me just detest the idea of finishing this new one. Hell, I've only read 20 pages of it and I don't want to go any further. The problem is that I think I need to finish it to write my final paper, as I think I'll write a comparison between it and Christ in Concrete (immigration lit-children of immigrants becoming American vs staying in the immigrant community, since Paul in CiC acts almost exactly the same as his fellow bricklayers. Leila or whatever her name is goes totally American and gets all insulted when her ethnicity trumps her nationality. How fucking boring. My other option that I just thought of is taking the narrative of the fallen woman from Women of Brewster Place and comparing it to Ellen Olenska in Age of Innocence, which requires finishing AoI. I should read more or all of Bone to do a response paper, though.

Aggggggggh. This is discounting my folklore paper, too. Those are both 8-10 pages. Actually, I think folklore is 10-12. I don't want to do anything except unpack my belongings and work on NaNo.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top