jinx

11.17.04 @ 11:25 p.m.

I am afeared of jinxing my housing situation, or at least the vague potential for housing awesome. I am kind of lightly kicking myself for not calling back today, but I felt like it was too soon. Tomorrow for CERTAIN.

OMG I am so scared. Seriously.

SO, other things! Regency House Party, for example. I don't know that the countess should be following Lady Caroline Lamb's example in ANYTHING, but hey. If she's willing to do very shocking things to land Mr. Gorell Barnes, can I blame her? NO I CANNOT. Because he is goddamn GORGEOUS. Maybe it's the whole Regency thing... I mean, the whole ascot/cravat thing DID come back in my other obsession period, the late sixties. And I do not like the business with Lady Devenport and Mr. Foxsmith. He's not even particularly handsome.

I would have put a picture of Pete Townshend up there, but thewho.net isn't responding at the moment, and I can't be bothered to upload the picture in question to my webspace and link it. Or even my diaryland space, which I always forget I have.

Um. I have a paper due in American Lit, actually due last Monday, but I still haven't done it. For one thing, she offered the last group an extra week. Plus I've had things due in Film and English as well, but mainly those are just excuses so I can pretend I'm not as lazy as I am.

I have picked up a bad command-S habit after typing for a little bit, and keep ending up almost saving copies of the dland entry page. I blame NaNo. (I crossed the halfway point today, but that means I am a good two days behind in my wordcounts.) I say this having tried to save this entry for about the fourth time this evening. Guh.

Today I took advantage of the sun to make experiments with depth of field on my old Cannon AE-1 up in the Masonic cemetary. I do love the faux Egyptian architecture of the little mausoleum there. The gothy vibe from mooching around a cemetary with a camera and a black coat is ruined by a high school track team doing laps on the hilly paths of the graveyard (WTF?) and the bald (shaved head) guy and his incongrously tiny, yippy looking dog wandering into shot all the time. Also the fact that I was listening to mostly upbeat music.

Speaking of music, I was disappointed today that no one commented on my big guitar earrings (not that I really expected anyone to) because I wanted to say, "Well, I'm feeling whimsical and I've been listening to a lot of Queen today." Which is true. I listened to A Night at the Opera both last night and this morning.

Colin Farrell on Jay Leno. My favorite thing about the Irish accent (when is intelligible, so not my family) is the transformation of 'th' to 't.' 'Thing' is 'ting.' I want to go back to Ireland. Oh, travel! Mom's college friend, on being told that I really wanted to visit Berkeley because I haven't seen any of them in forever and a half, said "I'll fly her down myself!" Isn't that a nice thing to say? I swear I haven't seen them since I was maybe 13, probably younger. Oh my god, that's almost ten years ago.

I don't think I have anything else of sense to say. I want ice cream, but I'm still really full from dinner (pasta al Ellen: any sort of noodle with alfredo sauce, mixed with steamed spinach and broccoli, garlic, onion powder, and grated mozzerella. Oof.)

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top