love hurts

10.22.04 @ 11:47 p.m.

Secretary. Wow. Just... wow. I... did and didn't expect it to be so unconventionally sexy, even though I knew the premise. And I know that sexuality is something I'm pretty close-mouthed on, being shy and overly obsessed with my own dignity. That doesn't mean, however, that it's not something I think of.

I mean, clearly I'm capable of lascivious thoughts, having spent an hour rapturously contemplating Max's stubble and staring into space.

Regardless. The dynamic between the two main characters is really tense and heightens the sexiness. I went in not particularly attracted to James Spader, but the... shy, neurotic way he was attracted to Maggie Gyllenhaal was really fascinating. He was clearly at war with himself, and that's... really hot, actually. God. I don't know what I think about some aspects of the ending, but overall, my reaction was to turn off the DVD, sit there for a moment in silence, and then just say "Wow," and "Oh my god." And maybe I can only react like this because I watched this movie by myself and I'd likely be very self conscious, even with someone like Ena or Martha. well, Martha and I went to see Young Adam together, and while the sex was very clearly present and important, it wasn't the whole of the plot. (Oh, the custard scene. The custard scene.)

Christ. I can hardly take it in. Maybe I'm exaggerating my response, but I'm really impressed with how this movie managed to make the situation truly sexy. I don't want to go into depths because of the ever-present specter of the spoiler, but even at his strangest, Spader's reluctance and desire together are almost sweet and charming. Gyllenhaal's budding sexuality is also fascinating to watch. You genuinely want them to get together, they mesh so well in their own frustrated way.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top