atlantis

10.17.04 @ 11:54 p.m.

Starting each entry with "Ennnngh, I'm tired" is not riveting reading, I'm sure. I guess I need to stop writing entries in the middle of the night, when I have nothing left to do.

Or rather, when I've done all my delaying and finally need to get down to doing my homework.

So! The weekend.

Saturday:

I got started later than I would have wanted, but I got to the German Shepherd National Show in Albany before they finished judging bitches or picked the Grand Victrix. (Victrix is one of my favorite words.) The National was and wasn't boring at the same time. It was neat to see the top dogs and bitches in the country and certainly very majestic. The vendors were crap, unlike the Corgi National. I think I spent most of the time watching the artist behind our chairs work on a pastel portrait of a Shepherd. I want to try that now, animal portraiture. At the very least, I'd like to do a portrait of Billy for dad. Or Hildy. Or Buddy. Or any of the other dogs that were truly, truly special to us.

I drove terribly back to Portland, partly because I was very conscious of my dad driving right behind me. Stupid. But let's break the cycle of my life by refusing to dwell on it and feel terrible and guilty for things that can't be changed, eh?

I spent some time with Mom and watched the fake Who on "American Dreams," portrayed by Emerson Hart, I think. Never mind that the Who weren't on Bandstand in '65, though I'm guessing one of their promo films was imported. I don't know. I spent most of the time thinking "Oh, this is WRONG. Just WRONG." I probably overreacted. BUT OH! The fake John Entwistle is what set me off. He was moving, almost rocking out to his bass solo. Come on, now. When have you ever, ever seen The Ox rocking out to his own bass work? When have you ever seen him move more than is necessary to play? But whoever was playing Keith Moon did okay, mimicking the way Keith played with his mouth open and head bopping in the early years.

Today was spent giving puppy Bobby Dylan a flea bath so I could bring him back to Eugene with me (which I did, and he smells lovely). I also had to give a bath to Ruby, partly because I'm OCD when it comes to fleas and she was freaking covered in them. I can't leave her like that. Also, we had a tick on a dog for the first time ever. Ruby had a tick on her nose, though we spent some time debating over whether it was a tick or a wart.

Uh. Nothing else of interest. Drove from Portland to Eugene in the dark for the first time. And now I have Bobby to take care of, and tomorrow I'll have to puppy-proof the house all over again.

There's some reading I need to do for class still.

Oh, yeah - Dad got The Essential Donovan and we listened to it together. It's completely awesome. Hence the title track.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top