our house is(n't really) a very, very, very fine house

08.29.04 @ 9:48 p.m.

I moved down to Eugene again yesterday. Ena left the house a filthy mess, so I've been cleaning since I got here, pretty much. I took the time to figure out how to dial into the university for free internet.

Bobby Dylan is here with me, and he's mostly been a sweet pup, though there have been two peepee accidents today. I don't know if I can stand to have him with me all year, though that's what dad really wants. I suppose it depends on roommates. Dad thinks I should keep him locked up more. Right now he's sleeping facing me, and he's just at the peak of adorability. He sure doesn't like cars, which makes taking him for a walk difficult.

I've moved into Ena's old room, which is much larger than my room used to be. She left a bunch of adhesive from her corkboard squares all over the wall, which means I need to put off moving my bookshelf into the room until Fuckwit Landlord (who was good enough to do some lawn care, after I complained a bit) figures out how to get it off without damaging his walls.

There was a mouse before I left at the end of the school year, and I guess it really got comfortable while I was gone. The bottom shelf of the cabinet, which was where I kept a lot of my food, was decimated. A big back of powdered sugar (not mine, don't even know how it got there) was chewed into in several places and a box of Bisquick had been eaten, so there's white powder on all the things that weren't interfered with. Well. Today I went to Target and bought a bunch of things, including an enclosed mouse trap (so I wouldn't break my fingers setting it). It was in the cabinet for less than an hour, baited with peanut butter, when it killed the mouse. I reset it in case he had any little friends and am storing things on high shelves and in jars now. No more horrible nibbling in the walls, which I suffered through all afternoon!

I also set up my parents' old stereo system in the living room, which is nice to have. It has a power outlet on the back so I can plug my discman into it, too, since they didn't give me the CD player that goes with it. They're still using that one. The DVD player is hooked up to it, too, which is going to be neat when I watch Isle of Wight again, or TKAA. Or my little disc of White Stripes music videos.

Soon the search for roommates will be renewed. I'm taking a couple of days to give this place a cleaning, though it's slow going. Ugh, it's so filthy. I just cannot believe that Ena didn't do anything with it. But I guess I haven't switched the phone service over yet, so I'm not perfect, either.

I also bought clearance jar candles, a new set of sheets, and curtains for my window, which lacks a curtain rod - tomorrow's errand/outing.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top