we're a happy couple, you and me... with a greyhound at either knee

05.30.04 @ 10:09 p.m.

The saddest thing of today was learning that canine Roger Daltrey might be a sickly fellow. On the other hand, wouldn't it be nice to convince my dad to let me keep this poor, adorable, nonsalable little guy who is even now nibbling on my arms and chewing at my watch? He seems to have doggy asthma and maybe had a little tummy bug today as he was throwing up. He's tiny, the runt of the litter, which is why I named him after the diminutive singer. Holy fuck, he is seriously gnawing on my thumb. It hurts a lot.

So despite all the worrying about little Rog (who seems to be okay now, or at least okay enough to be poking holes in my skin and clothes), Mom and I went to one of my favorite places in the world, Powell's City of Books. My first stop was the rocck biographies on the, uh, third floor. Wherever the pearl room is. I thought there was only a book or two on the Who and was satisfied picking up this one:

But then I saw almost an entire shelf section next to it FULL of Who bios. It took a massive effort of will, but I only picked up this one:

Of course, it was later when I found out that we had a massive giftcard and I could have picked up more. Goddamn. I found something cool inside a different book and stole it. I'll scan it later. I'd do it now and include it in this entry, but Roger just fell asleep on my lap. I don't want to wake the little boy.

Crossing Jordan uses good music. A couple of weeks ago they started the show with "I Can See For Miles," which makes me want that as the next CSI opening theme.

Dad felt better enough about his knee to go to the dog show again today. That's part of the reason why we spent so much time worrying about Rog, because the voice of expertise wasn't there. Tomorrow, early, we plan to take Grandma to Shrek 2, as she quite enjoyed the first one. Today we (my parents and I) dodged a visit with Aunt and Uncle Pretentious, mostly because Grandma didn't tell us we were expected until the last minute and it wasn't clear if Dad would be able to go or not.

Oooh, I don't want to put Roger away, but I need to go down and fetch the other TV to finish Candace's video and I want to scan some of the really fantastic photos out of the Max R&B book. I guess I'll put it off, read Dumbrella for now, then I'll put my little boy away.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top