just can't make no connections

05.20.04 @ 9:41 p.m.

Today is a day of slagged responsibilities. A ridiculous amount of sleeping in and other lying around in bed and trying to plot a particularly troublesome part of "I Can't Reach You" (you'd think I'd have something written, but no - well, three drafts of the beginning, the third of which is only a few sentences long)(that's good, less I need to change now that I've mentally rearranged EVERYTHING) was a good indicator of how my day was going to go. I decided that I did not in fact read the email from my psych professor and therefore did not know that I was supposed to go to class today after all.

Who? What? He said we didn't have to come this Thursday! Oh, next Thursday is the day we don't have class?

Deary me. What a shame.

I did do some things I've been meaning to do for a while now. Like cleaning the fridge. I pissed most of the day away online, though. I made two additions to a thread on Dumbrella that is perhaps evil in it's hilarity. Delicate sensibilities are warned that there is an illustration of female anatomy on the second page. Actually, I raced through the creation of mine when I got the idea for the puppy one. The other one came when I found the little child abuse icon. Oh, it is so un-PC. It's bad. (But it makes me laugh.) (Especially the first one by Cowboy X, which started the whole thing, and basically all of Julie's. And FuShank's "You're Adopted".) I feel guilty and funny all at the same time.

Ena got her license today, so it was off the the V-R-C with the E-N-A, because if I didn't tell her to go somewhere, she was going to drive me crazy. On the way we spotted Enki, a Taiwanese sort-of friend of hers at a bus stop and she decided to circle the block so she could tell him she got her license. Turned out he was headed to VRC, too, so we gave him a ride. My excuse for a mall excursion in the middle of the week was "Let's start looking at dresses so I can get an idea of what I should wear to my sister's wedding in September!" So I spent a lot of time trying on dresses and Meier and Frank and JC Penny. Severaly quite pretty things. It will be difficult to choose this summer when I go shopping in earnest. I didn't realize I would most likely be buying a light colored dress, because I wanted to buy black shoes, mary janes most likely, to wear with any skirts. Goddamn.

I like pretty things. Generally I'm lazy and go with the scruffy rock and roll girl look, jeans, converse, rock t-shirt. Or webcomic t-shirt. Or Star Wars t-shirt. Or homemade semiotic t-shirt! I'm wearing my mod target baseball shirt for the first time. Being pretty is so much effort. But maybe worth it. I would be very lucky indeed to find a life where I could continue on in this vein.

KZEL is the kind of radio station I'd like to work at, I think. There is such an air of the delightfully cheesy. Their noon show is called "Whole Lotta Lunch." Then I found out that they have a show every night at 6:30 that's a half hour block of Led Zeppelin called, get this, "Stairway to Seven." Then they pick up Alice Cooper's broadcast. And oh, is Alice Cooper funny.

I'm developing a fondness for Queen.

I officially declare this week's intense Who music phase over and announce the beginning of the intense Rolling Stones listening phase. I almost bought the Homer, Mick, and Keith shirt at Hot Topic, as it was $8 and in my size. But in the end, I decided not to.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top