we hope you like our story, although there isn't one...

05.07.04 @ 12:10 p.m.

I should be studying for a test, but I am not. Mostly because I'm pretty sure I've got discorso indiretto and pronomi relativi down. Of course, there will be big chunks of test about Italy's economic history, and I've got basically nothing there. I have a sheet of paper which says "Leggete bene prima dell'esame!" across the top, but I have not done so.

Mostly, I just wanted to say A) I love my iPod, it is convenience itself. B) I have rediscovered the half dozen or so decent tracks on the Head soundtrack, and I am very, very happy. C) The second half of "Layla" (the instrumental stuff) sounds very, very much like it belongs on a Michael Nesmith album. First or Second National Band stuff. Perhaps I am influenced by the fact that Nez covers Clapton's "I Looked Away" (which has lyrics about coveting another man's woman) on the First National Band's Nevada Fighter album.

Good lord, do I love Nez. And since the instrumental on Layla just started, I see that it is almost exactly halfway through the song. Also, since I'm being almost completely random, It still kind of surprises me that Townshend could turn to heroin after taking all that trouble to nurse Clapton through recovery. Dad has an "Eric Clapton and Friends" album that has Townshend on the cover (a photo from the Rainbow gig) even though Townshend does not appear anywhere on the album.

(Martha and I had a theory that boys don't refer to members of bands by their first name (Beatles and Stones are probably obvious exceptions) but girls, who might feel closer to the musicians, do. Occasionally I make an effort to refer to various musicians by their surname.)

(Excuse to use the word "surname"!)

[Title: Part of "Ditty Diego" from Head]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top