what's goin' on?

05.03.04 @ 3:55 p.m.

I may or may not muse on the nature of humanity today. I don't even know what I mean by this. Mostly I'm just noticing things I feel like recording somewhere.

Today on the bus, I had an imaginary conversation, which is to say I drafted out a really long thing I wish I had said to the rather attractive fella in my Chaucer class, who was walking right behind me between the Lillis Complex and Kincaid Street. For reasons unknown and with no other apparent effect apart from bewildering the entire class, my bombastic, older English teacher keeps bringing up the fact that he was sexually abused as a child. Frequently. Today was a long, uncomfortable speech where we weren't sure if we were supposed to be taking him utterly seriously or laughing or what, since the topic of the day was alledgedly satire and irony. But instead he just made us highly uncomfortable and there is no apparent relevance. Why? Why is he telling us this? It doesn't relate to The Canterbury Tales, I'm sorry, but I just don't see it. What is he trying to achieve? What does he want? Pity?

It's maddening.

I skipped Italian, which made my day feel almost blissfully intellectual.

I keep thinking how I'm so shy and have a hard time talking to people, but I quite like several people in my folklore class. I sit next to this woman who was in my Gender and Sex in Antiquity class and we talk a lot before class and whisper comments and jokes during lecture (almost nothing will derail my Folklore prof). Today she gave me a Lifesaver and complimented my hair, though it was in a whisper in the middle of class because she didn't notice until then. The blue kind of blended with the design on my shirt. She's funny and I enjoy talking to her, but I feel kind of bad because I have NO idea what her name is. None at all. I think she probably doesn't know mine, either. I also find it interesting that the guy with the fianc� (or at least who prefaced a sentence with, "My fianc� was saying...") is the big stereotypical D&D nerd whose mother edits a print zine full of fanfic, I'm assuming erotic fanfic from the cover, and who spent rather a lot of time discussing the concept of the fandom with me after class once. That makes me sound just as bad, but he was being a pedant and making sure I understood the seriousness and intensity of offline fandoms. I fucking well knew what he meant, but he persisted in believing I didn't. I was mostly killing time until the professor was free to discuss my proposal. But I could talk to him. Somehow that Folklore class is the kind of class where you can stand around before or after and just chat with your classmates. It's awesome, and I don't think I've had many classes that are like that. I don't know what quality deterimines such a thing. Subcultural studies are just intensely fascinating, though. Punk and UFO cults especially.

The Dumbrellites are insanely obsessed with Kingdom of Loathing. It's so funny. Not that I'm not equally bad, since I am part of the Dumbrella clan and considering starting a second character for the glory of the clan. Booyah. Or I'll just go back to obsessive play of Disworld MUD.

It's HOT. I'm THIRSTY. Class is done for the day, and I didn't go to Italian so I don't know what the homework is. Sounds like an evening of goofing off and watching the conclusion of 10.5, absurd as it is.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top