whole lotta shakin' goin' on

03.25.04 @ 4:10 p.m.

I meant to write yesterday, well, last night but never got around to it.

It was what, Monday that I went to the beach? I remember what I did yesterday, but nothing specific comes to mind for Tuesday. Oh, yeah. I went to the library and the video store with my mom and also to Albertsons to look at Rug Doctors because we have been having serious issues with the smell of this shag carpet.

The library resulted in me taking home 10 books off the paperback exchange (7 cheap romance novels, 3 vintage SF novels, rock and fucking roll) and a copy of Johnny Cash's autobio from the regular circulation shelves. Of course, I still have a couple of chapters left in Hellfire to read and I am gently longing for a Jerry Lee Lewis greatist hits album. Saunders was right, the book did make me want to listen to his music. Goddamn, I admire that man. I need to get over myself and have a nice chat with him because he is the king of awesometown. The video store was for the renting of Pane e Tulipani (Bread and Tulips) so I can see what happens to Rosalba before the school year ends and Spun so I can just... see what happens to Jason et al. Half of each movie has been watched so far. And because they were having a buy two get one free sale at Blockbuster, the following titles have been purchased: Pirates of the Caribbean (DVD), Igby Goes Down (DVD) and A Mighty Wind (VHS). That last one is staying here with my parents, but the other two are mine, baby, all mine. I'm glad to finally own the piratical Johnny Depp.

Yesterday we decided that the upstairs had become an issue. It wasn't so terrible until my dog's pregnancy seemed to spark her need to pee all over the shag carpet, which I am very fond of as it's been here since the late 1960s. So my mom and I rented a Rug Doctor carpet shampooer and I did all the work. Actually, I kind of wanted to. It's that mindless simplicity of cleaning thing and also the chance to play with machinery. It was actually kind of astonishing to see a visible difference in some areas of the carpet, particularly a back corner of the room that was popular with my elderly, incontinent corgi before she died in 1999.

So the carpets are clean and damp, though still very slightly smelly. For now, I'm blaming that on 'still damp.'

I was supposed to go with the movies with Amy and Martha yesterday and that fell through and now they want to reschedule for Friday. And I'm just kind of tired of it, though I do want to see Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. I'm kind of through with hanging out, too. I don't know if I would be if I had more variety, but seeing the same two friends for all my social outings does eventually get a little boring. I don't know what to do, accept and go tomorrow or go through with my original plans for tomorrow, which were 'shopping with Mom.' If I buy jeans and CDs and whatnot now, my parents will pay for them. I'm also sick of being jerked around, but that's not really intentional. Things sometimes just don't work out and I totally understand that, I'm just... tired. I'll have to go back to school soon and I'm not exactly eager to throw myself back into the grind, especially with a Chaucer course of questionable difficultly looming large in my future.

Meanwhile, I'm on something of a roll. Early this week I beat my mom at backgammon, though she was assisting me a lot, telling me to redo bad moves. Then I won when Martha and I played chess at the coffee place in Cannon Beach on Monday. This afternoon I got my dad to play a quick hand of seven card rummy with me and booyah, I won again. He says I keep winning lately, which I can't attribute to anything but luck because I play with almost no strategy in mind and almost always miss the obvious sets in the discard pile and such. I love playing cards and board games. It makes it a shame that no one ever wants to play with me.

I also spent some of today playing with my dad's guitar. He has a quite nice Martin acoustic that he's had for a while. One of the things I love about it is that it has visible wear from being played so much. It also has a much mellower sound. I bemoaned my lack of theoretical music knowledge and Dad got the Complete Guitarist book he gave me and showed me where some things I need/want to learn are. So that's good. I need to make more of an effort to practice.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top