dogs

03.17.04 @ 12:43 p.m.

Dogs get morning sickness, sort of. My dog is definitely pregnant, my dad tells me, because she started becoming an extremely picky eater at the appropriate time.

(Puppies! Heehee. Okay, that's out of my system.)

I stayed up until four last night working on my Classics final, but that's because I didn't start working on it until about 10:30 or 11. Sulpicia is a fun name to say, especially as we've been pronouncing it "Sull-PICK-ee-uh". She's basically the only female Roman poet whose works survive. She likes modesty and indescretion, and this is relevent because I had to write a short essay on modesty and indescretion for that final. All night I listened to the new-ish oldies AM radio station. They bill themselves as "feel-good" oldies, which basically means the oldest of the songs. From midnight to one it was all ballads, too, billing itself as "Backseat Oldies" which strikes me as very funny for a radio station aimed at an older audience. They also keep throwing in vintage radio ads. Something I learned last night: Chiquita says "Never put bananas in the refridgerator!" I've got it on now, too, and they just had a spark plug ad. I like this station, and I'm kind of surprised at how much. I think I was offended when the other oldies station switched from just late fifties and sixties to sixties and seventies. And I just haven't warmed to the classic rock station that much yet.

Right now I'm setting up and burning a "Pop Mix" because I felt compelled this morning to download "Don't Worry Baby" (Keith Moon's favorite song) and "Good Vibrations" and now I need a CD to mix them in with. One of the things that delighted me most about Sunday's episode of the Simpsons was when there was spooky music and Homer said that the ghost or whatever "better not be messing with his Theremin!" I'm happy I know what they are now, though it's quite likely I misspelled the instrument's name.

Typing is slow because iTunes wants all the computer memory, and my computer isn't plugged in, so I'm kind of sucking the hell out of the battery.

In an hour, I leave for the public library and thence Portland. If I had been smart, I would have gone to the library when I turned in my paper as planned, but for some reason I thought I needed more time for packing and such. I don't. Which is why I'm making a CD to listen to on the bus.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top