talking to the wall

02.08.04 @ 8:00 p.m.

I just read an interesting article on homosexuality in wild animals.

This morning I picked up my computer up off the couch and it was full, FULL of ants. What the hell is that? I opened it up and saw something crawling under the keyboard. I didn't realize there were dozens until I pulled up the keyboard and they came pouring out. Some of them also went into the vents in the back, which has me a little worried. I suspect that maybe they were attracted to the old sugars stuck under a few keys from that time I spilled a little bottle of Martinelli's in the keyboard. Sometimes the 'i' still sticks. But rarely. Anyway, I think I got them all out eventually, though it was very frustrating indeed. It didn't help that MCI wasn't functioning when I tried to call my parents and ask them what to do to get rid of the horrid things. It's been pretty awful. They swarm anything left around for a few minutes near the couch. I don't see any now, but that might be because Ena went on a big cleaning spree.

OOOOOOH! Eugene joke on the Simpsons! That's so fucking cool! I love this. And, uh, this is kind of freaky, it's ending with jokes on Animal House, which we watched last night to identify campus buildings. (Ena pointed out to me which building they used as the Dickenson dorms, which had been puzzling me.)

Yesterday was kind of crap. I went shopping, and it was awful, as usual. I hate shopping. A lot. There is little I dislike more than shopping, at least when I actually need something. Going shopping with Martha or Jodi or someone like that, that's fun. Shopping because I've put it off so long that I don't have a choice anymore, no fun. Mostly it's shopping for bras that's awful, because I'm, ah, generously proportioned and slightly asymmetrical and usually end up leaving in frustration without having bought anything. But yesterday was not too horrid, because I swallowed my pride and just dealt with having to buy something that could sail a small yacht. Christ. No woman will ever get pity from me if she complains about lack of endowment. TMI, I know.

So to reward myself for suffering and plowing through regardless (who has to reward themselves for shopping?), I went to Hot Topic. Yeah, yeah, Hot Topic is for posers, blah blah blah, but I like music shirts. Whatever. The Merchandising Gods were smiling down on me, because they had a Who t-shirt. Admittedly, it's got ugly faux aging and the mod target has the coloring wrong (it has the red and blue reversed), but still. So of course I bought it. And I was a little mad that when I got home, Ena was all "You disappeared!" What the fuck, who is she, my keeper? Why she always has to know where I go when I don't ask her where she's been... ugh. And she started to look in my shopping bags and I had to snatch them away and say, "They're bras, okay?" Fucking snoop.

Like I said earlier, we also watched Animal House. It was filmed here at the University of Oregon, so it's fun to look at the buildings and say "Hey, that's on 11th. Hey, that's also on 11th, right next door to the other frat. I have class in that building; I buy Subway where John Belushi just ran through yelling 'Food fight!'"

Speaking of the fame of Eugene, I'm supposed to be reading a Ken Kesey novel, but novels in the present tense annoy me. Sometimes A Great Notion. What I've gathered so far is that it's about what every other fucking Northwest novel has been heavy on: scenery and rain. This is about logging disputes, loggers' unions or something. Something to do with an arm dangling from a pole above a river. I don't really know what's going on. I got distracted only a few pages in and before I knew it, it was "Check email right before the Simpsons starts" time.

But I'm going through a Michael Nesmith phase again, or at least today. I listened to Hits/Ranch Stash double album earlier and listened to "Talking to the Wall" off Tantamount to Treason about three times in a row. It's a rare song that can make me listen on repeat.

Am pissed that I missed the White Stripes on the Grammys. So I guess it's time to do some laundry and maybe try to go back to the Kesey (HA HA HA).

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top