sister, do you know my name?

01.27.04 @ 11:33 p.m.

Oooooookay. I'm trying to think of how to reply to this email I just got from my brother, and 'Cheerfully flippant' is the only tone I can come up with that seems alright. I mean, get this:

I was thinking about you and how I have been such a shit over the years....
So I have decided to start down a new road...
[etc.]

Who is this man and what has he done with my funny, irresponsible brother? I depend on him to be a shit. That's what he does! What's a girl to do? What's odd is that I was just thinking of my brother this evening. (Though it was because I watched the Battle of Hoth in Empire Strikes Back this evening.)

I also have done nothing as far as my research project for Italian. I'm going to try to not sleep in way too much tomorrow (especially since Fuckwit Landlord wants to replace a window in our living room at 10 tomorrow morning) and maybe do a little looking around, since I'm supposed to meet with my midterm partner tomorrow afternoon. Heh. Whoops.

I just bought this shirt tonight.

I suppose I have tomorrow to reply to my brother's email, but I feel like I should do it tonight. But again, what tone to take? Maybe tonight is not so good, because the first thing that came to mind just now when I looked at the email again was "Good god, man, no one should ever use Comic Sans. I disown you as my brother for crimes against design."

I was also going to write about a New York Times article about a Mormon offshoot facing rebellion because the leader does things like excommunicates men and then gives their wives and daughters to other men in marriage. Maybe tomorrow? That, and I think I was going to mention something about preferring to grocery shop alone. Ena wanted to go with me today because she needed to restock, too, but she also wanted to finish watching a movie in french that was due back at 6. I got impatient and said that I was going before it got dark and riding my bike, so I wasn't going to wait.

I don't know if I'm tired or if I'm feeling low because there's something inherently sad about the email, but I'm not terribly talkative for once. Ena and I watched not quite an hour of The Two Towers this evening, sadly not the extended edition. I've seen the extended Fellowship, but last friday's viewing of the regular version was the only other time I've even seen that movie. (I didn't jump on the LotR bandwagon until the second movie.) I'm just a little sad. Still pining for a particular boy and just feeling vaguely lonely in general. I think it's a bad thing for me when things start to look up and get less angsty in my writing, because hey, the angst has to go somewhere. If it isn't pinned to the page it goes flying up and tangles with my actual life.

[Title is a White Stripes song. Sort of appropriate.]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top