radio radio [live, elvis-costello-gets-banned-from-SNL version]

01.26.04 @ 9:00 p.m.

Martha sent me a blog entry about the Darkness and now I have the fierce urge to sing "Friday Night" to someone who shall remain nameless. It's either good that I keep these urges under my control so I'm not annoying, or bad because I'd be a far more interesting person.

Apropos of nothing, I was reading the Portland Mercury Sex Survey about an hour ago, and I cannot stop giggling at the phrase "like throwing a hot dog down a hallway." The wording just strikes me as particularly funny. Also, there's a portion of the survey that asks which local weatherman you'd give a blow job to that reminded me of a time when a group of students (including myself) were talking to our (now essentially known to be gay) history teacher, Struck. He said Matt Zafino was his favorite. Now that has other meanings in my head. I had a mild crush on Struck. He was tremendously awesome.

I'm completely surprised that no one has mocked me about last night's episode of the Simpsons. I was so sure it was coming, that now I'm almost disappointed. Sigh. At least she got published, eh? Not that I've even tried to rewrite the one finished piece I have, which I suspect would be salable if I did the appropriate research. [Admittedly, I'd be selling it to Zebra, which publishes four a month. With hideous printing errors on occasion. I read one over Christmas break called The Wagered Wife that said The Wagereed Wife on the spine. Also one where a previous reader (keep in mind I nick these off the paperback exchange) had corrected several spelling errors in blue ballpoint.] I could use the money.

So. I had my first course for my new English class tonight, and it was surprisingly good. It was really refreshing to listen to the class rip apart the mediocre novel even though most people said that they had liked it but not loved it. A few people hated it. And yet we all jumped in to bring up our dislikes. It read like a Hallmark Hall of Fame movie. And a girl in the back pointed out that she bought her copy at Powell's in the "Christian Fiction" section, which really explains a lot. Turns out it's the first time the prof has taught this book and said it's rare that he agrees with student criticisms, but yeah, we were mostly right. I chimed in about the name-dropping that seemed a bit much. And it wasn't even people you'd know about if you didn't live around here. Mostly it was John Day. There's a town of John Day here in Oregon, I think. So she couldn't just refer to him by his last name like everyone else (except Lewis and Clark, they got their full names all the time, too), he just had to be "John Day."

I enjoyed when the teacher said about the heroine "She seemed to think [her husband] was a pretty good guy when he stayed off the hooch." I suppose it was the way he said it, but I like his use of the phrase "the hooch."

Of course the class ran long enough that I missed the convenient bus, so I had to wait nearly an hour to catch the next. Hence my reading the Mercury while I sat around at the Subway in the student union. That, and taking another student directory. It's stupid, because there's the online version that's often more accurate because it can be updated, but you know I'm still distance-stalking the Who Boy. But it's a good class and I'm fairly pleased with it.

Now I'm zoning out a lot, so I guess it's time to stop.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top