train in vain

01.20.04 @ 7:06 p.m.

If I were responsible, socially, I'd be watching the State of the Union address. But I decided to turn it off after he said the Patriot Act should be renewed and I found myself shouting "No! Fuck no!" at the TV. Ignorance is bliss, etc.

It's easy to forget that Tuesdays and Thursdays are now my busiest days. Classics is completely awesome. We talked about home life in the Odyssey, which is rather idealized and yet still carries that message that women are never totally good. There wouldn't be all these problems if Penelope would just go along with things, you know. A huge portion of the class was devoted to the art of weaving in ancient times, and I got to practice spinning with a drop spindle, I think it was. It was a cheap one made by attaching AOL CDs to a dowel, heh. I kept the lumpy yarn I made and probably made an interesting picture much later in the day when I killed all of Econ hand-twisting it into thinner, more even string. Good god, is that class boring.

I finished my fairy tale/fable for Italian last night during CSI: Miami. This is likely an indicator of it's quality. That, and I just ran the first half through Babelfish and see now that I misspelled "farmer" every time after the first time. Whoops. It's very abrupt because I didn't have the time or inclination to do a lot of the elaboration my head was filling in. The story, in short (which is not much different than the final version):

There was a lonely bachelor farmer. A fairy godmother saw him one day and took pity, and left an egg in his garden. The farmer found the egg in the middle of one of his flowers and took it inside. That night, it became a girl and the farmer became her father. They were happy. One day a young prince passed by with his father and fell in love with the egg girl. Then the farmer got married to a woman with a daughter. Stepmother and Stepsister conformed to all fairy tale conventions and were mean and lazy. The father died. The prince became the King and came back to the farm to find the egg girl and marry her. Stepmother saw him coming and sent the egg girl into the forest to fetch three apples for no apparent reason whatsoever. The King came but the egg girl wasn't there, so he went for a ride in the forest to sulk about it. Ta daa, there was the egg girl with three apples. She dropped them and they eloped. Stepsister married a poor farmer.

I realized this afternoon that I should have stepped up to Martha's challenge and worked the word "eroinomane" into the story. (It means "heroin addict.") Stepsister should have died in an alley of the capital city. Man. Probably would have freaked out teacher Enrico, though.

Today I bought books and books and books, though all for class and none for fun. Temptation reared it's head in a collection of Lester Bangs' writing. Phillip Seymour Hoffman was a good choice to play him in Almost Famous, really, looking at the picture on the back of the book.

I see before me a tuition refund check for $18. I shall spend this on a Robotania shirt.

Lastly, Slavik got back from Europe and has apparently been catching up on his reading, as he IM'd me to taunt me. ("so you finally came crawling on your knees, begging, to the mighty sword whose name is ENGLISH") I guess I'll leave that to speak for itself.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top