to get on the bus that takes me to you

01.19.04 @ 9:35 p.m.

I cannot believe that I managed to make myself a proper dinner (read: anything that starts with raw meat and ends edible) when I didn't even get home until 8. I may regret wolfing down a huge bowl of chicken curry on rice. I didn't even realize I was hungry, but there you go.

Jodi came over again today, which was unexpected. I mean, she said she would, but I thought she'd call first. She hung around for a little while while I finished up the tail end of my packing, scanned some photos of Moni's birthday party, and then we played a little more Oregon Trail. Which might have made me a touch late for my bus, but I got on and everything. You'd think they'd start earlier with the security searches at the PDX Greyhound station since, without fail, they run out of time and end up telling people to just get on the damn bus already.

The problem was that I got to Eugene at 7, and the bus that comes by my house wasn't due for another 40 minutes. So I killed the time by going to Cafe Paradiso for a hot chocolate (my tongue is still scalded, I am not good with hot drinks) and sat outside at the bus station reading Hitchhikers's Guide to the Galaxy because I didn't have anything else with me. I was seriously toying with rereading the series, but now I don't think I really want to. Once was really enough. Who knows. Anyway, I have a cheapy copy of the full Hitchhiker series that looks very posh. The pages have gilt edges and it has a ribbon bookmark.

Someone manifested my fear about carrying around that book by approaching me at the bus station to recruit me into his new church. Gaaah. He was very shocked indeed that I was not only reading scifi but also made a crack about the book looking like a Bible being "the risk I take." Heh. To my credit, I wasn't outright rude.

Now I'm tired but I just drank two glasses of iced tea, and I still haven't written my fable for Italian. My brain is feeling scattered.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top