i'm too tired to think of something to put here

01.16.04 @ 11:15 p.m.

I just had this weird, horrible foot cramp thing. It was awful.

Today has been ultimately very productive. In the hour I had between classes I not only returned one of my textbooks, I also went downtown and picked up a couple of library books and got back to campus before the half hour. After that I just checked my email in the library. So maybe that just feels productive but isn't really. Classes invovled a quiz and an exam (I don't think I did fantastically on either, quite frankly), and then I raced home to dump my books and refill my backpack with clothes because I Greyhounded home today.

This time, though, I brought Ena, so she's finally seeing my house after all this time. Also, she is taking an inordinate amount of time downstairs showering etc, which is annoying because there is but one bathroom and I have to pee and brush my teeth. Grr.

Also, I have to get up super mega early to go to a dog show tomorrow. So I need to go to sleep soon. And my dad made a big ol' turkey dinner tonight and the turkey-phan did its work very efficiently. I am still full unto bursting after, mm, three hours. I can't help it. My dad's cooking is so delicious that I am compelled to eat until I have to lie down on the living room floor moaning about how much I ate.

One of the reasons I decided to go to the show tomorrow was that Dad brought Billy-boy in, and he is wonderful as usual. He is a wrasslin'-and-huggin' dog. He's big (90 lbs?) and charismatic, so you just want to throw your arms around him. And he's one of those dogs that tolerate such behavior from humans. Jubee, one of the other shepherds, used to throw herself against me with all her weight to get hugs and other physical attention.

Damn it. I was musing on something today that was interesting, but I can't remember what it is. Split personality in fiction, I think it was. I was noticing how there's a fad for monagrammed whatever lately and how that's a throwback to the late fifties. Then I thought about a Perry Mason episode where a woman had a nice personality and a wild, outgoing one. The nice, shy one was allergic to fur, the other wasn't. One of the pieces of evidence was a fur stole with the second personality's initials on it. Anyway, I notice that nice personalities, usually the 'original' personality, never seem aware of the darker side, whereas the darker side is aware of the first personality, sees all they do, and exploits it. Why is that? Fictional convention? Or would only a darker personality exploit the nicer? Why aren't there ever offshoots that are nice? Or are all splits the mind manefesting a less inhibited self, someone who can do everything the first personality wishes it could do?

God, I need to go to bed.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top