lovely new look

12.20.03 @ 4:13 p.m.

Wow, first entry in the new template. Very exciting indeed. Liz has my gratitude and this is the best birthday present I've gotten so far! Admittedly, my actual birthday is tomorrow, but I don't care, I'm very happy!

The old layout, for the sake of posterity:

I should try to think of Quadrophenia or Who quotes or lyrics to replace my previous and next buttons, though. Hmmm... This requires going to put my Quadrophenia CD in right now as, uh, research. Yeah. All that leaps immediately to mind is "rockers" and "mods," but I'll think it over. Suggestions welcome.

I'm pretty stoked about seeing Return of the King, too, though a date hasn't been set for that. I've been watching Two Towers as a refresher and left off just before the seige of Helm's Deep. Watching Eowyn makes me want to design swords and faux Medieval dresses, though. Or write about warrior-maidens like the main character in my unfinished NaNoWriMo novel. Mom went to see it with her class yesterday and said she liked it, which, considering she has a high bias against the movies thanks to working with a complete fanatic, is a good sign. I think the epic battle stuff bored her in the second one, but she said she stayed interested through all of the third. She won't be wanting to go again, though, so I'm sure it'll just be me and Dad, unless one of my friends here in Portland wants to see it with me. It would probably be the second time for anyone who'd want to go, because I think Martha's the only one who's not a big fan.

Hell, my friend Amy's dad wanted to name her Arwen. Dead serious. Her mom put her foot down on that one. We told her we'd call her Arwen as a nickname, but we never got around to it. Can you imagine being a young woman named Arwen with all the fuss around the movies now? "What's your name?" "Arwen." "No, really." "That's my real name."

Other news/notable whatever:

The tree is about half decorated. Well, two thirds. We've got the lights up and some of the ornaments, including several glass bulb ones that are probably antique. They're very old, at any rate, and even though I think they're a bit ugly, they go up for the sake of tradition. My mom and I are sneaky. Dad bought this angel shaped out of christmas lights to go in the window a couple of years ago while going through this odd decoration phase (lots of window decals purchased, though many of those are actually quite nice and we use them every year and the less than pretty ones get left in the box. Whoops, no room on the windows, sorry) and while Mom and I were decorating, we decided to slyly bury it back at the bottom of a box we were done with and hope no one remembers its existance. Fingers crossed.

Moderately absurd ideas for the 'prev' and 'next' buttons:

This is come out of my listening to the CD right now. I will think of respectable ideas later. I just wanted to try out the unordered list code. Hah.

Edit, because I can:

Let me flow into the ocean
Let me get back to the sea
Let me be stormy
Let me be calm
Let the tide in and set me free

Edit again:

I am sad because I just got $300 from relatives in Los Angeles and am being guilted into not buying myself an iPod. It is fiscally irresponsible of me, but I believe that gift money should be spent on gifts. Dad keeps telling me I should get a cheaper MP3 player and seems bemused by me saying "I'd rather save the money and buy something I very much want, namely, an iPod." "You are an adult now," they say, "so you should be saving your money." My flimsy counterargument was that it was imperative that I spend it today before it's too late. Parents are no fun.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top