...lazing on a [rainy] afternoon...

12.12.03 @ 10:05 p.m.

Today has been very good indeed. Not only have I been responsible for keeping the fire going (and I've done rather well, I'd say) in my dad's absence, but he found the capo he claimed he gave me a month ago and gave it to me.

Now, since I elected not to bring either of my guitars home, I asked Dad if I had access to his guitars. I'm always a little afraid I'll 'hurt' his nice Martin acoustic, so I asked to use his stratocaster. His is pretty much the same as mine (except mine is a Squier) except where mine is black, his is a kind of cream color. Antique White, I guess. Anyway, he brought it down for me to use, but snapped the A string while tuning, so I ended up with the Martin after all. My acoustic is loud and kind of tinny sounding. Also, the G jangles against a fret somewhere. The Martin is wonderfully mellow sounding. It's lovely. So I spent more than an hour, probably more than two hours teaching myself "Let My Love Open The Door" after a long time dinking around with the resonator (which I really hate, and yet I still play with it) and just experimenting with the capo for the hell of it.

There's also now a big pile of guitar picks on the bookshelf, because I said something about wishing I had the light pick that Ena gave me a week or so ago. One of the ones he brought down from his 'studio' is one of those egg shaped rhythm shakers with a pick attached. It's starting to freak my dog out.

So after all that my fingertips are kind of tingling. But I don't care, I'm guitar-happy. I don't really have anything else to do with my day. It's vacation time. I'm thinking of trying to finish Traveler this coming week just to have something to do. It looks like we'll get a tree this weekend, which is freakishly early for my family. Half the time we don't go until my birthday, which is the 21st.

I'm seriously so bored that I contemplated getting out a card table and starting a 2500 piece puzzle.

So I guess the last thing I have to say (that's worth saying) is that after listening to Beggars Banquet over and over for the last two weeks, I've noticed something that amuses me related to Nessa's diary. The other day I was reading an update and across the bottom of the Netscape window, it said "Waiting for factorygirl.diaryland.com..." and I heard Mick Jagger in my head singing "Waiting for a factory girl..." Somehow when I try to explain why this is funny/cool, it doesn't quite come out. But I think it's cute.

[title is an altered lyric from the Kinks' "Sunny Afternoon"]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top