bibliomania

11.29.03 @ 7:20 p.m.

To my delight, one of the books I got out of the paperback exchange has spelling corrections done in ballpoint pen. Someone is so familiar with Regency London that they corrected the name of a major horse dealer. It was great.

Today was a riot of book acquisition. I'm so happy. I got the Bachman Books for $1.50, and at one point this afternoon I made a happy noise and hugged the big thick paperback, which makes me wonder about myself. I don't care, though, books!

I also picked up four Regencies, a Dirk Pitt novel, a Perry Mason novel, and later went to the other library to check out Liverpool Fantasy, which is also very happy-making. It's an alternate history of the Beatles, what would have happened if John stormed out (with Ringo and George in tow) while preparing to record "Please Please Me." Perhaps it's a little over dramatic, with fascists nearly taking over Britain. I've only read a few pages, and rather foolishly I'm also seventy pages into the first Bachman book, Rage, and also halfway through a paperback romance.

My sister has her wedding dress, my parents told me when they got back from going to the movies with my sister. (I begged off by reason of homework, of which I've done nil all weekend.)

I was hoping to find a Star Wars character toothbrush at Fred Meyer today because I saw a really neat articlette in SWI where a girl took one, pulled out the bristles, and boiled it until it was soft enough to mold into a bracelet. But they had nothing.

And now I just know my parents have turned up the stereo while the stupid folk rock special plays "If I Had a Hammer," one of the songs I hate more than anything in the world.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top