...not of sight or of sound but of the mind...

11.07.03 @ 5:46 p.m.

Oh man. I was feeling like I had all these little vignettes in my head on the bus just now, and I'm worried that I've lost them or am in the process of losing them.

So, first: What the hell is going on at the Ferry Street Bridge tonight? Seriously. Four or five really skeezy people kept asking the driver of the bus I was on which bus to take to the Ferry Street Bridge. Is something going on there? Scary homeless person convention? Because I was totally freaked out by these people and that's why I jumped on the bus as soon as it arrived. Never mind that it wasn't due to leave for at least ten minutes. In the end, it was all good because I was in the warm and there was lots of light to read by. And I was on my way back from the public library. I dunno, a big cluster of homeless guys brandishing half empty forties is a little scary to the shy, un-physically-fit girl on the dark and rainy night.

(Damn you, Papa Murphy's pizza... your ads are making me crave food I cannot afford...)

My haul from the library consists of a book of Stephen King short stories and a DVD of original Twilight Zone episodes. Uh, yeah. I present an interesting personality study there, I think. I really do wish I lived in 1965 and not only for the glory of the music era. I wish I could go back to a time where you could legitimately WRITE things like the Twilight Zone, science fiction without the need for meticulous research into tech feasiblity and all that. A time when we weren't so jaded about technology. Have you ever read the short story "I Have No Mouth And I Must Scream"? Or Varley's "Press Enter[]"? How about the ever marvelous book Space Merchants? I am mad in love with that kind of writing. But it's the Twilight Zone that really gets me. There was one episode that I'm sure had Elizabeth Montgomery in it. As was so often the case, some future war had destroyed the world or at least radically depopulated it. There was a man, an American, and the woman was a Russian I suppose, since it was still the dark depths of the Cold War. They were enemy combatants, but they were just about the only ones left alive, and so they ultimately decided to make a go of it together. It was fucking brilliant. There was another one where a man landed in a space ship in a lovely but deserted area. He met up with a woman there and their names were revealed at the end to be Adam and Eve. Her language's word for soil was "earth", which was what Adam the space man decided to christen the planet. I plan to just wallow in horror and science fiction tonight.

With any luck, it'll help me some with my novel, which is falling further and further behind. I've only written 500 words today and I didn't write at all yesterday. This afternoon I got a bit desperate and stuck and I am reluctant to admit it, but I brought in a bit of a 'plot ninja'. Except not a ninja. I had cruised the forums for discussion of what would become this year's plot ninja, and a lot of things were suggested. I picked two of my favorites and combined them, resulting in the brief walk-on role of Zombie Elvis. Yeah. I could rationalize it by saying Celeste was delusional, but she doesn't even know who Elvis is. And he called himself a bit of a 'Bubba Ho-Tep' except that it doesn't quite fit the plot of that movie. Bubba Ho-Tep was a mummy, not a zombie. It was really pathetic. And poor, stupid Kurin (who looks just like Keith Moon's model-wife Kim Kerrigan in my head) got excited and looked for underwear to throw. Sometimes you have to break the tension in the creative part of your mind, I guess, and just go for the ridiculously absurd.

Lastly, I'm finally almost finished with my Keith Moon bio after putting it aside for a while. It's getting close to the end of Moonie's life. The Kids Are Alright is being filmed and Moon is just mentally disintegrating. He really was a fascinating person, but it just makes you so sad to read about his fall from grace, from fame, and just his total insecurity.

I'm going to have to get up early tomorrow (goddamnit) and go to Albertsons so I have chips and con queso dip for tomorrow because by the time I got around to leaving the house this afternoon, it was a choice between the library and the supermarket. I wasn't going to get to both before it got dark and totally inclimate. So I chose the library because that was the more involved trip.

I think I need to change into my nice black yoga pants and do a load of dark laundry. I need clean jeans and I always feel really bad when I'm doing laundry at night for fear I'm keeping neighbors John and Annie up.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top