late nite double feature picture show

11.01.03 @ 12:10 a.m.

Technically, I'm allowed to write, but I don't think I can do it yet. We're waiting on a pizza (and by we, I mean me, E*, Ming Chi, and yet another Taiwanese student named Bonnie).

I just got back from Rocky Horror. I'm glad I went, I'm glad I actually did something because Halloween is one of those nights you really don't want your loserliness to shine through. I'm a bit harsh on myself, but there it is.

After my adventures with the window, I went to the Eugene Public Library and FINALLY (I've lived here for most of two years now) got myself a library card. And rather a good thing I waited, because I got a new Smart Card that lets me do self checkout. The very silly thing I did, since NaNoWriMo has officially started, was to check out what looks like a very good book indeed. It's called The Lovely Bones and is written from the point of view of a dead teenager (well, she's 14) observing the aftermath of her murder and it's impact on her family. Everyone says "Wow, that sounds really sad/depressing." It's actually quite beautiful so far and only part with the dad grieving has made me feel really sad. The problem is that it's absorbing, and I can't afford to be reading during NaNo. I'm trying to make a vow of only reading on the bus or before classes, but I know that's going to be hard to keep. As it is, I've made significant headway and am strongly tempted to return to it even now, even though I'm super tired. Grr. Damn tempting good literature. Straight from the library I went to Cafe Paradiso for the first NaNo meeting. It was quite good. People were funny and open about their plots (after some initial embarassment) and there was much joking around. Fun. I'm pleased this year, especially with the turnout.

So... I can write now. But I'm not. I'm sleepy, but this might be the best state of being to just let it come flowing magnificently from my fingertips. Even if the MIND NUMBING (and other body part numbing) COLD has turned certain keyboard keys stiff again (must I suffer forever for spilling Martinelli's into my laptop? Well, it was pretty damn stupid), I'm typing well and quickly and without too many errors. (Of course, I can't spell 'errors' without mistyping it.)

I keep yawning. But there's pizza coming, and cheese sticks (that healthiest of foods... like I care if their healthy, I will EAT THEM ANYWAY because they are DELICIOUS.) The end of the world also beckons. (NaNovel is post-apocalypse, hence prologue must feature said ending of the world as we know it. Someone on the NaNo boards gave me a magnificent idea about the cause of the epidemic that destroys near all (so cliche, I know, but it's NaNo, so screw it) and I've twisted it slightly to my own ends. And I feel better that way, because then it's become my own.)

Goodnight.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top