lost in the supermarket

10.25.03 @ 9:54 p.m.

Lazy day. Except that I went to the supermarket twice. I bought dark chocolate Hershey kisses (funny, considering Slavik's 'girls and their chocolate' comment last night) and the ingredients for my dad's lentils and beef recipe. I'm very proud, actually, of all the cooking I did today. Proper cooking rather than the kind of half-assed stuff I normally do. It was good. Not as good as Dad's, but I think I can be forgiven considering it's the first time I've done it by myself. I undercooked the lentils themselves and the beef was done a little to early. But all in all, the end result was pretty damn delicious. E* said it tasted 'strong' which I didn't really understand. I don't know, I've always thought lentils were a bit on the bland side, which is why I usually grind pepper all over it. Salt, pepper, and sour cream. Except we don't have any sour cream, alas. And not important enough to buy. And crikey, bay leaves are really expensive. Like $.88 an ounce expensive.

Right now I'm watching a "Most controversial videos special" on MTV2 (which I get despite not having cable--it's an odd thing, but in Eugene it comes in quite clearly over the air. It actually comes in more clearly than NBC here. Crazy) and previewing the new Strokes album. I can't decide if I want to spend the rest of my Target gift certificate on new gloves (which I need, and, quite honestly, desire) or pay for most of the new Strokes album. Can I wait until the birthday comes? Because I also lust after the albums that would fill the gaps in my Who collection and some other things. Speaking of music purchases, I used the iTunes store for the first time last night. One of the things I bought was "Dogs" by the Who, which is a quirky but not spectacular single from about '68, if I'm not mistaken. I find it odd that it's in my Best of tablature book when it's clearly not one of the Who's best. I would have rather had a full transcription of "Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere", which I have parts of in my "Riffs of Pete Townshend" guitar book.

The Strokes. I really like them. I don't know that I would have discovered this if Martha hadn't praised them and then my uncle when I was in Los Angeles a year ago last August. Uncle Jimmy also had a copy of London Calling in his truck (said truck and a plaid shirt leading me to dub him "The Suburban Lumberjack"), the complete cool factor of which I didn't learn until later. But my aunt bought me the CD because I am spoiled like you wouldn't believe when I go to L.A. Well. My aunt treats me as a bit of a surrogate daughter sometimes. There were so many pictures of me in her apartment. Anyway. The Strokes are awesome. I think I also adored their performance on Conan, but I can't be certain that I watched and processed it before I got the CD. I've just had a brilliant idea, so I must go. Ta.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top