those about to rock...

10.18.03 @ 11:08 p.m.

Oh my. I simply adored School of Rock. And being a humongous music geek myself, I had several moments of especial excitement. I loved the little lead guitarist boy. And oh lord, the drummer! "It's punk." I loved that Pete windmilling was showcased AND Moonie at Monterey Pop. Little drummer boy looked like he was having a revelation just after watching Moonie. Inside, I was a writhing little mass of joy in that theater. (I alternate between 'theatre' and 'theater' at random, ever notice?) So happy. It was AWESOME. Except for the way that all those kids make me feel like the most lazy, unskilled guitarist in the world.

[AGH! Dewy kept a Maximum R&B poster right next to a Sex Pistols poster! How fucking cool? Rah!]

I bet I'd be more effusive about the movie if I'd written right after I got back, but I decided not to. Instead, I picked up The Girl's Guide to Hunting and Fishing and have been reading that all day. Well, on and off. [Did I mention that my dad gave me Chuck Berry and Bo Diddley CDs last night? Well, loaned them to me.]

Um, what else? I baked brownies. I tried to get Martha to go to the movie with us, but she had company coming to her house. Drat. I was bored silly by my dad insisting I edit the dog show footage he had, and I compromised by showing him how to take his own goddamn still frames and just left him to it. Unfortunately, I have to comb through those so he can decide what he wants uploaded to the kennel site.

Speaking of the kennel site, it's pretty crap, in my opinion. I use tables with the borders still visible, for fuck's sake. Even I dislike those. BUT, it accomplishes my purposed for all my limited HTML knowledge and it's not disgracefully bad. My parents have the URL as the sig file on their email, and apparently our elderly neighbor told my parents he thought I had a future in web design.

Hah.

(Blah, I ate too much cheesecake swirl brownie. And two tacos and a burrito for dinner. Wow. That's a lot of food, actually.)

I've been in this rut lately, resisting all homework like the plague. I don't know why I can't force myself to do my work of late, but even with the best of intentions I find myself evading work. Suddenly, I'm just doing something else, and then it's late and I can't keep awake and nothing has gotten done. It's a bad place to be. So tonight I'm going to try to brainstorm up as much as I can on a short Illiad paper I have due on Monday. While I watch SNL.

Ah, Jack Black. I salute you.

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top