the north side of my town faced east and the east was facin' south

10.16.03 @ 2:35 p.m.

I regret skipping journalism last Tuesday for the lamest of reasons: I'm a total font whore. I adore typography. More often than drawing pictures any more, I draw elaborate fonts in random words or band names or song titles. That's how I doodle now. A sweeping Who logo, "A Quick One While He's Away" written in angluar writing across the top of a page where, in boredom, I started writing out the lyrics to the mini-opera. So Tuesday was the first day of Typography. Today was the second, and while most people only sketch the layout forms we're supposed to know, I was gleefully interspersing my notes with quick drawings of particular letters I find interesting when the professor slaps pages of font on the big opaque projector.

Thankfully, J204 is my only class of a Thursday. Not that I'm productive or anything. I should probably do a load of dark laundry in preparation of going home tomorrow. Yay! Home! How I miss it. It's been a MONTH. I miss my family. Which is probably why I spent so much time on the phone with them the other night. (Also, I'm listening to Portland's Rick Emerson, the only talk radio personality I can stand and even like, which makes me nostaligic for the end of summer, kicking around the house with dad playing Civ and listening to Rick. Shouting "He BETTER rank "My Generation" as the number one rock stutter!" to each other.)

I've been better than most days, today. I started on my Italian homework, and then came to the computer to check on the definition of the verb "cercare" and found myself writing. I set myself up in one of the big windows in our living room, feet up on the windowsill, enjoying the unusually warm day.

Okay. I nicked the roommate's camera for a moment (how nice to have access to a digital camera!) and so I'll play show and tell today. Well, I guess I'll only do two pictures. I also took a picture of my room that I forgot to edit just now and am too lazy to deal with now and a close up of a cross spider (or as the brits would have it, garden spider) that I was hoping to have identified but managed to ID on my own with the help of the great god Google. And I know there are many who don't fancy a close up of a giant, revolting spider. I don't even like that it lives outside my house. OUTSIDE. There's a horrifyingly large number of them around. And if a spider isn't the common Daddy Long Legs spiders we had in my house in Portland, I assume it's tremedously venemous.

(And people say I'm not completely paranoid... wait, who says that?)

ANYWAY. This is the view from the rocking chair where I had been kicked back, doing my Italian homework and enjoying the sun before I got all involved here. Complete with my feet up on the sill.

And this is typical Eugene graffitti, which I was telling Candace about last weekend in an IM conversation. I actually quite like this photo for all that I took it totally blinded by the afternoon sun, self conscious about the guy giving me a weird look from his SUV, and suddenly aware of just how tall stop signs actually are. They don't SEEM that big until you're standing two feet from one.

It's such a lovely day. I half wish E* were around so I could drag her down for a walk in the park, four blocks west, which I instinctively feel should be south because it's downhill. My sense of direction is wonky. At least in Eugene it is. I always felt like the west end of campus should have been north, too. Possibly because I feel like if there's going to be a central street to your campus that ends in a prominent place, that place should be the north end of campus.

Whatever. Now I get to deliberate over what my assigned mock magazine cover is going to be. I have to think carefully because the clever thing to do would be to keep it as part of my VisComm final project, which is a few pages of an imaginary magazine. What would rock? Why, a music mag with the Who on the front excitedly proclaiming a review of the new release of The Kids Are Alright. But can I sustain that and can I be, uh, modern? I don't think I'm allowed to design a magazine in 1968 even if I am making everything up. I thought about doing a dog magazine, because the Canadian magazine Modern Dog is so amusing (in that it is a strange mix of urban lifestyle and dog enthusiasm, so it's models in $500 designer dresses with their dogs on fancy leashes. Etc.) This isn't urgent, but I have almost no ideas.

[Title lyric from the Who's "Substitute"]

<<>>

Previously

fuck it @ 08.01.05
fanciful imaginary sea voyages to come @ 07.20.05
*dies* @ 07.19.05
more ootp @ 07.17.05
harry potter: driving our children into devil worship @ 07.17.05
go to the top